20 July 2024 The Irish Film & Television Network
Sound & Colour wins Best Irish Narrative Short Film at Boyne Valley International Film Festival 2023
14 Sep 2023 : Luke Shanahan
Alison Oliver in Sound & Colour
The second Boyne Valley International Film Festival (BVIFF) took place from August 11-13, welcoming both filmmakers and audiences to Boyne Valley to celebrate film, filmmakers, and the Boyne region.

A key feature of the festival are the Awards, designed to celebrate and support filmmakers, with €1,000 going to the recipients of each category award. Gerard Anthony Gormley’s The Passenger won Best Short Filmed in the Boyne Valley (sponsored by the Clinch family), whilst Emma Foley won in the Best Narrative Irish Short category (sponsored by Love Drogheda BIDs) with her film Sound & Colour.  

Other category awards at the festival include: Best International Short which went to Off Side (Hors Jeu) by Sophie Martin, Best Animated Short which went to Mum is Pouring Rain, by Hugo de Faucompret, and Best Documentary Short which went to Nothing to Declare by Garret Daly.

Fionnuala Gygax was the recipient of the 2023 Development Bursary to help realise her script for the short The Island. Other filmmakers shortlisted were Katie Murphy (The Queen of Puck), Tania Notaro (Men of Fighting Age) and Conor McCormick (Baby Bunker).

The festival was also delighted to welcome filmmakers Aaron Monaghan and Clare Monnelly to Drogheda to celebrate their work and explore their process as the 2023 Filmmakers in Focus.

BVIFF 2023 is produced in partnership with LOVE Drogheda BIDS, funded by the Arts Council, and Meath and Louth County Councils, and supported by Boann Distillery, The D Hotel, the Clinch Family, the Arc Cinema, and Anglo Printers. 

For more info and booking see www.droichead.com

Winners at Boyne Valley International Film Festival 2023:

Best Short Film Made in the Boyne Valley

The Passenger (WINNER)

Writer/Producer: Gerard Anthony Gormley
Director: John Redmond

Best Irish Narrative Short Film:

Sound & Colour (WINNER)

Writer/Director: Emma Foley
Producer: Tamryn Reinecke


Writer/Director: Aisling Byrne
Producer: Killian Coyle

Best International Short Film:

Off Side/Hors Jeu (WINNER)

Writer/Director: Sophie Martin
Producers: Nicolas d’Autryve & Sandra Karim


Writer/Director: Vito Palumbo
Producer: Gaspare Rizzo

Best Animated Short Film:

Mum is Pouring Rain (WINNER)

Writers: Hugo de Faucompret & Lison D’Andréa
Director: Hugo de Faucompret
Producers: Antoine Liétout, Ivan Zuber & Emmanuèle Petry-Sirvin

Best Documentary Short Film:

Nothing to Declare (WINNER)

Writer/Director: Garret Daly
Producer: Martina McGlynn

Short Film Bursary Award:

Fionnuala Gygax, for The Island (WINNER)

Conor McCormick, for Bunker Baby (HONORARY MENTION)

Filmmakers in Focus

Clare Monnelly and Aaron Monaghan

Netflix reveals first-look image for Kaos starring Jeff Goldblum and Killian Scott
Exclusive: Official poster revealed for The Wise Guy ahead of world premiere at Galway Film Fleadh
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



canli bahis siteleri rulet siteleri deneme bonusu veren siteler bahis siteleri free spin veren siteler deneme bonusu veren yeni siteler yeni casino siteleri yeni bahis siteleri
slot siteleri betwild pashagaming tipobet hizlibahis cratosroyalbet betwoon kumar siteleri bahis siteleri casino siteleri en iyi bet siteleri
grandpashabet spinco betwoon giris cratosroyalbet giris superbet