3 March 2024 The Irish Film & Television Network
Irish filmmakers among new Academy members
29 Jun 2023 : Luke Shanahan
Paul Mescal, Fodhla Cronin O’Reilly, Colm Bairead, Kate McCullough, Tom Berkeley, Ross White, and Kerry Condon
398 artists and executives have been invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences. Membership selection is based on professional qualifications, with an ongoing commitment to representation, inclusion and equity.

Colm Bairead, Paul Mescal, Kerry Condon, Kate McCullough, Fodhla Cronin O’Reilly, Tom Berkeley, and Ross White are among those who have been invited to join the Academy. If all invitees accept membership, the total number of overall Academy members will rise to 10,817 (up from 10,665 last year), with 9,375 eligible to vote  for the 96th Oscars taking place in March 2024.

40% of invitees identify as female. 34% belong to underrepresented ethnic/racial communities and 52% hail from 51 countries and territories outside the United States. Other notable invitees include filmmaking duo The Daniels (Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert) who won the Oscar for Best Director and Best Picture earlier this year, Aftersun director Charlotte Wells, lead actors of RRR Ram Charan and N. T. Rama Rao Jr., and musician Taylor Swift, who is set to make her feature directorial debut soon.

Bairead is one of only eight filmmakers invited to multiple branches of the Academy, however, invitees can only select one branch upon accepting membership. The other seven filmmakers are The Daniels (Everything Everywhere All at Once), Edward Berger (All Quiet on the Western Front), Antonio Campos (The Devil All the Time), Lukas Dhont (Close), Ana Katz (The Dog Who Wouldn’t be Quiet) and Santiago Mitre (Argentina, 1985).

“The Academy is proud to welcome these artists and professionals into our membership,” said Academy CEO Bill Kramer and Academy President Janet Yang. “They represent extraordinary global talent across cinematic disciplines and have made a vital impact on the arts and sciences of motion pictures and on movie fans worldwide.”

In 2022, the Oscars invited 397 new members, including Irish actors Caitríona Balfe and Jamie Dornan.

For the complete list of the 2023 invitees, click here.

Cillian Murphy wins at the SAG Awards 2024
BAFTAs 2024: Cillian Murphy wins Best Actor, Element Pictures’ Poor Things wins 5 awards
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter




canli bahis siteleri rulet siteleri bahis siteleri yeni giris casino siteleri deneme bonusu veren siteler bahis siteleri free spin veren siteler deneme bonusu veren slot siteleri