29 May 2022 The Irish Film & Television Network
Derry Girls creator Lisa McGee receives the Brian Waddell Award at RTS NI Programme Awards
12 Nov 2019 : News Desk
Cast members of Derry Girls with Executive Producer, Liz Lewin.
The winners of the Royal Television Society Northern Ireland (RTS NI) Programme Awards were announced last week at an awards ceremony in The Mac Belfast, hosted by TV presenter Vogue Williams.

The creator, writer and executive producer of Derry Girls Lisa McGee was awarded the coveted Brian Waddell Award for her outstanding contribution to the broadcast industry for her wonderful immortalisation of her hometown in the phenomenally successful Derry Girls. While Series 2 of Derry Girls also won the Best Scripted Comedy award for Hat Trick Productions.

Speaking about receiving the honour, Lisa McGee said:

“I am so honoured to be receiving this award. I can't quite believe it!  It's such an exciting time for the Northern Irish film and television industry, it's a privilege just to be part of it, the fact that some of my favourite television shows are being made at home just fills me with pride, our work is now recognised and respected all around the world, it's such a huge achievement, well done us!"

Line of Duty Series 5 by World Productions was awarded Best Drama and Unquiet Graves by Relapse Pictures was the winner in the Documentary category with Stellify Media’s Netflix gameshow Flinch picking up the best entertainment programme.

The Interactive award went to Boom Clap Play for When Something Happens with Sixteen South winning the best Children’s and/or Animation Award for Claude – ‘Twinkle Toes Terry’.

Alleycats Films’ Reporting History: Mandela and a New South Africa won the Specialised Factual category with The Fitting Room receiving the award for Best Features / Factual Entertainment.

The Current Affairs Award went to UTV for UTV Up Close Killer Patient and the Original Music Score winner was Game of Thrones by Television 360, Starling Television & BigHead Littlehead.

Finally, the Award for Best News Coverage went to BBC News for its coverage of the murder of journalist Lyra McKee.

Kieran Doherty, Chair of RTS NI said:

It is a real pleasure to acknowledge the incredible talent of stage and screenwriter Lisa McGee for her fantastic success with Derry Girls, whose five characters have won the hearts of viewers the world over.

“Congratulations to all our winners who represent the very best of the exceptional talent we are producing here in Northern Ireland.  The high quality of this year’s entries is hugely reflective of our dynamic creative community. I know the judges had a tough time deciding the eventual winners so congratulations to everyone who was nominated as well as tonight’s winners. The RTS NI is an educational charity and events like tonight give us the opportunity to highlight and celebrate the wonderful achievements of our vibrant film and TV industry which is now being recognised on the global stage.”

The RTS NI Programme Awards 2019 are delivered in partnership with BBC Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland Screen, Channel 4 and UTV, along with the headline sponsor Ka-Boom.

The Royal Television Society Northern Ireland Programme Awards 2019 winners are:

 Scripted Comedy

WINNER: Hat Trick Productions: Derry Girls Series 2

Finalists: The Comedy Unit: Soft Border Patrol and Moondog Productions: The Blame Game


WINNER: Relapse Pictures: Unquiet Graves

Finalists: Alleycats Films: Tiananmen: The People Versus the Party and Below the Radar: Scéal na Beatha


WINNER: Stellify Media: Flinch

Finalists: Stellify Media: There’s No Place Like Tyrone and Green Inc Film & Television: Ireland’s Got Talent


WINNER: Boom Clap Play: When Something Happens

Finalists: BBC NI: Armistice Day and Hot Knife: IF

Specialist Factual

WINNER: Alleycats Films: Reporting History: Mandela and a New South Africa

Finalists: Erica Starling Productions and Rogan Productions: Border Country: When Ireland Was Divided and State of Grace Films: Showbands: How Ireland Learned to Party

Children’s and/or Animation

WINNER: Sixteen South: Claude – ‘Twinkle Toes Terry’

Finalists: Sixteen South: Wildwoods – ‘Ka-Ding’ and Jam Media: Becca’s Bunch – The Great Indoors

Features and / or Factual Entertainment

WINNER: Darlow Smithson Productions: The Fitting Room

Finalists: Waddell Media: The Chronicles of Mourne and Waddell Media: Turas Bóthair

Current Affairs

WINNER: UTV: UTV Up Close: Killer Patient

Finalists: BBC NI: BBC NI Spotlight: ‘Paisley in Paradise: Revisited’ June 25 2019 and UTV: UTV Up Close: Lasting Legacy

Original Music Score

WINNER: Television 360, Startling Television & Bighead Littlehead: Game of Thrones

Finalists: Fine Point Films: Hear My Voice and Darlow Smithson Productions: Torvill and Dean

News Coverage

WINNER BBC News: Lyra McKee

Finalists: UTV Live: Bloody Sunday Prosecution and BBC NI: The Greenvale Hotel Tragedy


WINNER: World Productions: Line of Duty – Series 5

Finalists: Runner Television 360, Startling Television & Bighead Littlehead: Game of Thrones and Darlow Smithson Productions: Torvill and Dean

The Brian Waddell Award for Outstanding Contribution

WINNER: Lisa McGee, creator of Derry Girls.

Director Colm Bairéad discusses IFTA Best Film winner An Cailín Ciúin
“Channel 4 is something we need to safeguard, and make sure that it's treated properly and protected;” Director Ian Fitzgibbon discusses his recent sitcom Hullraisers and working with Channel 4
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



bodrum escort bayan escort antalya gumbet escort