24 July 2024 The Irish Film & Television Network
Winners announced for 2023 RTS N.I. Television Awards
06 Jun 2023 : Luke Shanahan
James Martin
The winners of the Royal Television Society, Northern Ireland 8th Programme Awards were announced at the awards ceremony in City Hall, Belfast hosted by Blu Hydrangea.

Derry Girls Series 3 picked up the Comedy Award for Hat Trick Productions and Jamie-Lee O’Donnell won the Best On-Screen Talent Award for her performance in The Real Derry: Jamie-Lee O’Donnell by Tyrone Productions.

The Childrens and Animation Award went to Zokiak Kids & Family Productions UK for Silverpoint with BBC NI picking up the Current Affairs Award for Spotlight: The Babymaker Uncovered

Irish Language drama Doineann by DoubleBand Films won the Drama Award with Aisling Productions and Soilsiu Films awarded the Best Documentary for Young Plato: The Philosophy Boys of Ardoyne.

The Chronicles of Strangford won the Best Lifestyle/Features Award for Waddell Media and the Factual Entertainment Award went to The Fast and the Farmish-ish by Alleycats TV with BBC NI picking up the Entertainment Award for The Belfast Mixtape: Songs from Lockdown.

UTV picked up the News Coverage Award for UTV Live: Dying on the Streets, with the Specialist Factual Award going to Walk on Air Films and Ronachan Films for Brian Friel: Shy Man, Showman and the Best Original Music Score was awarded to Nowhere Special by Andrew Simon McAllister.

Belfast actor James Martin was presented with the Brian Waddell Award for his contribution to the industry. James is the first leading man with Down Syndrome in an Oscar-winning film and has enjoyed global success for his portrayal of Lorcan in An Irish Goodbye.

“It’s absolutely wonderful to receive this recognition in my home town,” said James Martin. “I hope my success encourages more young people like me to follow their dreams as I did.”

“The high quality of this year’s entries is hugely reflective of our dynamic creative community,” said Gareth McGreevy, Chair of RTS NI Awards. “The judges had a tough time deciding the eventual winners so well done to everyone who made the shortlist as well as tonight’s winners. The RTS NI is an educational charity and events like tonight give us the opportunity to highlight and celebrate the wonderful achievements of our vibrant film and TV industry.”

Fiona Campbell, Chair of RTS NI added:“It is a real pleasure to celebrate the incredible talent of our very own James Martin, who has won the hearts of audiences worldwide with his outstanding performance in An Irish Goodbye. As an industry we have a unique platform in which we can smash prejudice by ensuring that we are inclusive both on-screen and behind-the-cameras. Congratulations to all our winners and finalists, who represent the best of the creative talent now so evident in Northern Ireland.”

The RTS NI Programme Awards 2023 were delivered with support from BBC Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland Screen and Channel 4. This year’s RTS NI Winners and finalists are as follows:

Winner: The Belfast Mixtape: Songs from Lockdown (BBC NI)
Finalists: Beauty Queen and Single (Stellify Media) and Live At The Waterfront! (Green Inc Film & TV).

Childrens and Animation
Winner: Silverpoint (Zodiak Kids & Family Productions UK)
Finalists: Happy the Hoglet (Paper Owl Films) and ODO (Sixteen South/Letko)

News Coverage
Winner: UTV Live – Dying on the Streets (UTV)
Finalists: BBC Newsline - Creeslough (BBCNI) and UTV Live - Creeslough (UTV)

On-Screen Talent
Winner: Jamie-Lee O’Donnell (in The Real Derry: Jamie-Lee O’Donnell (Tyrone Productions)
Finalists: Holly Hamilton (in Victory in Vienna by Clean Slate Productions) and Theo Dorgan (in An Buachaill Gealgháireach (The Laughing Boy / To Yelasto Paidi) by Imagine Media Productions Ltd).

Specialist Factual
Winner: Brian Friel: Shy Man, Showman (Walk on Air Films and Ronachan Films)
Finalists: Fergal Keane: Living with PTSD (State of Grace Films) and The White Handkerchief (Open Reel Productions)

Current Affairs
Winner: Spotlight: The Babymaker Uncovered (BBC NI)
Finalists: Spotlight: Police, WhatsApp and Whistleblowers (BBCNI) and Up Close - Home Terror (UTV)

Original Music Score Award
Winner: Nowhere Special (Andrew Simon McAllister)
Finalists: An Buachaill Gealghaireach: The Laughing Boy (Eleni Karaindrou; Imagine Media) and Wreck (Steve Lynch, Noemi Spanos, Chris Baugh, Ryan J Brown; Euston Films, Fremantle Media).

Factual Entertainment
Winner: The Fast and the Farmer-ish (Alleycats TV)
Finalists: Ceol Le Toal (Big Mountain Productions) and Strawbridge over the Drawbridge (BBCNI).

Winner: Doineann (DoubleBand Films)
Finalists: Bloodlands: Series 2 (Hat Trick Productions) and Wreck (Euston Films).

Winner: Chronicles of Strangford (Waddell Media)
Finalists: B&B By The Sea (Afro-Mic Productions) and The Hotel People (Waddell Media).

Winner: Young Plato: The Philosophy Boys of Ardoyne (Aisling Prodcutions and Soilsiu Films)
Finalists: James Joyce's Ulysses (DoubleBand Films and Lone Star Productions), Quinn Country (Fine Point Films) and The Real Derry: Jamie-Lee O'Donnell (Tyrone Productions).

Winner: Derry Girls: Series 3 (Hat Trick Productions)
Finalists: Free Gaff (Green Inc Film & TV) and William of Orangedale (Hat Trick Productions NI).

The Brian Waddell Award for Outstanding Contribution
James Martin.

Netflix reveals first-look image for Kaos starring Jeff Goldblum and Killian Scott
Exclusive: Official poster revealed for The Wise Guy ahead of world premiere at Galway Film Fleadh
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



canli bahis siteleri rulet siteleri deneme bonusu veren siteler bahis siteleri free spin veren siteler deneme bonusu veren yeni siteler yeni casino siteleri yeni bahis siteleri
slot siteleri betwild pashagaming tipobet hizlibahis cratosroyalbet betwoon kumar siteleri bahis siteleri casino siteleri en iyi bet siteleri
grandpashabet spinco betwoon giris cratosroyalbet giris superbet