23 July 2019 The Irish Film & Television Network
Education / Training
Festivals / Markets
Locations Ireland
Post Production
Rep Bodies
Features & Interviews
Production News
Post Production News
VFX News
Animation News
Digital News
Festivals News
Training News
Cast News
Finance News
IFTA Film & Drama Awards
Galway Film Fleadh 2017
List Your Company
Daily News Bulletin
Site Map
Irish Animation Award Winners 2017
29 Mar 2017 : Laura Brennan
'Second to None' (Vincent Gallagher) Won Best Animated Short Film
Animation Ireland’s second awards ceremony sponsored by RTÉjr, the Irish Film Board & Animation Skillnet was held in Dingle last weekend (25th March). It acknowledged the outstanding creative talent within the Irish animation, visual effects and gaming industries.

IFTN would like to congratulate all the nominees and winners across the thirteen award categories.

The packed room in The Skellig Hotel included representatives from Amazon Prime, Disney, the BBC and Netflix as well as representatives of the many animation studios in Ireland.

One of the big wins went to ‘Song of the Sea’ which won the Best Irish Feature Film Award adding to the many accolades received by Tomm Moore and Cartoon Saloon for this film including the 2015 Oscar nomination for Best Animated Feature and its victory at the 28th European Film awards.

Other winners included Boulder Media’s Go Jetters for Best Visual Effects (VFX) as part of an Animated TV Series of Film, Vincent Gallagher’s Second to None for Best Animated Short Film and Best Music/Sound Design award was for Danger Mouse.

Sheila DeCourcy, RTÉ Group Head of Children, said: “It's a joy for RTÉ Young Peoples to collaborate with Irish animators in bringing powerful series and short films to young and old audiences. Acknowledging their success is something that RTÉjr is proud to be part of." 

A special Murakami was awarded to Aidan Hickey. Aidan graduated from the NCAD with a degree in painting in 1966. After working as an artist for a time, Aidan discovered his talents were better suited to animation and he became one of the first animators to work in Ireland. He worked on an animation contract with RTÉ into the 1990s, but when that contract dissolved Aidan built up contacts with animation studios across Europe, the US and Asia. As an animator, scriptwriter, director and teacher Aidan Hickey carved out one of the most admired and respected careers in the industry.

Murakami is an award named after Jimmy Murakami who, together with Fred Wolf, established Murakami Wolf Dublin to produce the hit animation series ‘Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles’. He was the subject of a 2010 feature documentary film made by Irish director Sé Merry Doyle and produced by Martina Durac and Vanessa Gildea of Loopline Films. ‘Jimmy Murakami – Non was premiered in Dublin at the 2010 IFI Stranger than Fiction Film Festival.  

Paul Young, Industry chair Animation Ireland said: “It is fantastic to see so many in attendance at the awards which demonstrates the growth which the Irish animation industry has experienced. We Irish have a passion for storytelling and the arts – a culture which is ideally suited for the creativity of world-class animation studios and the quality of the award nominees shows this”.

Speaking at the awards, Gareth Lee, Manager, Animation Skillnet commented: “It's great to see the Irish Animation Awards back again this year to celebrate the fantastic work being produced by the Irish animation and related industries. It looks like 2017 will be another outstanding year for the sector with lots of interesting projects and plenty of job opportunities for graduates. Tonight shows that animation in Ireland is alive and well and we are very happy to have been involved”.

Full List of Irish Animation Award Winners 2017

Best Animated Preschool Series (up to 6 years)  

​​Lily's Driftwood Bay (Sixteen South Production Team)

Kid's Choice Award for Best Animated Series

Roy (JAM Media Production team)

Best Animated Short Film

Second to None (Vincent Gallagher)

Best Writer for Preschool Animation (up to 6 years)

Doc McStuffins 'Welcome to McStuffinsville' (Chris Nee & Kent Redeker)

Best Writer for an Animated Series

Roy 'ROY 2.0'  (Mark Hodkinson)

Best VFX as part of Animated TV Series or Film

Go Jetters (Rob Fletcher, Mario Bortas & Rodrigo Rocha)

Best Animation for Apps and Gaming

Little Roy's Wonder Doodler (Niall Mooney, Will Wivell, Travis McNulty & Scott McDonnell)

Best Design/Art Direction

Puffin Rock (Lily Bernard & Stefano Scapolan)

Best Director of an Animated TV Series

Little Roy (Alan Shannon)

Best Animation

The Day Henry Met a Camera (Gilly, Susan Broe & Andrew Dawson)

Best Music/Sound Design

Danger Mouse (Dominic Lawrence, Sol O'Carroll & Andy Kirwan)

Best Irish Feature Film or Special

Song of the Sea (Tomm Moore)​

Northern Ireland Film ‘Ordinary Love’ to have its World Premiere at TIFF
Screen Ireland CEO James Hickey Calls for Streaming Services Tax Levy
Screen Ireland & Panavision Announce Camera Shooting for Camera Assistants Course
TG4 Canada-Ireland Co-Development Incentives 2019

Composer Steve Lynch Discusses Scoring New Irish Feature 'Finky'
Watch: Hugh O'Conor & Jordanne Jones Discuss 'Metal Heart' with IFTN
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

IADT launches new Certificate in Production Management for Animation
10 Jul 2019 
Paper Owl Films' 'Far Isle' to Premiere at Galway Film Fleadh
04 Jul 2019 
Screen Skills Ireland - Developing an Animated Television Series
03 Jul 2019 
Pulse College Announces New Springboard+ in Animation 2019
26 Jun 2019 
Northern Ireland Film ‘Ordinary Love’ to have its World Premiere at TIFF
Screen Ireland CEO James Hickey Calls for Streaming Services Tax Levy
TG4 Canada-Ireland Co-Development Incentives 2019
IFTA to Host In Conversation With... John & Ros Hubbard at Galway Film Fleadh
Upcoming Festivals
Key dates & deadlines in the Events Diary
Distribution In Ireland
Irish cinema & DVD distribution
Training in Ireland
The latest on Irish film / TV industry training

Find us on Facebook
Follow IFTN on Twitter
E-Newsletter Subscribe
Subscribe to RSS Feed

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter