22 February 2024 The Irish Film & Television Network
‘Run and Jump’ Wins Big at 2014 Zebbie Awards
23 May 2014 : Aisling Newton
Ailbhe Keogan and IFI Director Ross Keane
This year’s Zebbie Awards saw the Writers Guild of Ireland continue the annual tradition of distributing awards for the best Irish writing of the previous year in the five categories of feature film, television, radio, theatre and short film.

The awards took place on Thursday May 15 in the Sugar Club, and saw Irish writers for stage, screen and radio turn out to support one another and celebrate Irish writing in general. The feature film category saw Ailbhe Keogan and Steph Green’s script for ‘Run and Jump’ edge out competition from Brendan Muldowney’s ‘Love Eterna’ and Donal Foreman’s ‘Out of Here’ to take the prize, while Ted Gannon picked up Best TV script over ‘Love/Hate, ‘Republic of Telly’ and ‘Callan Kicks the Year’ for his episode of TV3 drama ‘Deception’.

In radio, Cavan writer Philip Doherty picked up the award for his work on ‘A Golden Triangle’, while Mikel Murfi’s ‘The Man in the Woman’s Shoes’ won the theatre award. Antoin Beag O’Colla won Best Short Film Script for his Irish language short ‘Rúbaí’, which tells the story of a young girl who creates a scandal when she refuses to take Holy Communion, claiming she is an atheist.

The Zebbie Awards were founded in 2007 in order to highlight the best in Irish writing for stage, screen and radio. The awards, termed on behalf of OZ "Zebby" Whitehead, a stage and film character actor who has used his own personal funds to sponsor new writing for thirty years, were presented by Senator David Norris. Also among the nominees on the evening were Donal O’ Kelly and Kevin Barry for radio, Feidlim Cannon, Tom O’ Sullivan and Eoin Duffy for short film, and Dylan Coburn Gray and David Ireland for theatre.

BAFTAs 2024: Cillian Murphy wins Best Actor, Element Pictures’ Poor Things wins 5 awards
Director Anna Rodgers and Producer Zlata Filipovic discuss Two Mothers
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter




canli bahis siteleri rulet siteleri bahis siteleri yeni giris casino siteleri deneme bonusu veren siteler bahis siteleri free spin veren siteler deneme bonusu veren slot siteleri