24 June 2018 The Irish Film & Television Network
Education / Training
Festivals / Markets
Locations Ireland
Post Production
Rep Bodies
Features & Interviews
Production News
Post Production News
VFX News
Animation News
Digital News
Festivals News
Training News
Cast News
Finance News
IFTA Film & Drama Awards
Galway Film Fleadh 2017
List Your Company
Daily News Bulletin
Site Map

Richard Baneham Wins Visual Effects Title at Oscars
08 Mar 2010 :
Richard [left] & Andrew
Dublin born animator Richard Baneham and his team last night took home the Oscar for their Visual Effects work on James Cameron’s ‘Avatar’ whilst the ceremony’s prestigious Best Picture prize went, for the first time, to a female director - Kathryn Bigelow for ‘The Hurt Locker’.

‘Avatar’s Visual Effects win saw Richard, Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum and Andrew R. Jones beat off competition from the visual effects teams from ‘District 9’ and ‘Star Trek’. Richard Baneham, the film’s animation supervisor, voiced his gratitude for home efforts involved in his win thanking: “Everybody in Ireland that’s watching, everybody watching in Ballyfermot and in Tallaght.”

Martin Cullen TD, Minister for Arts, Sport and Tourism this morning (Monday, March 8th) congratulated Richard on his win, saying :“Richard is one of Ireland’s most accomplished animators and winning this much-coveted award is a great personal success and a further recognition of the talent available in the Irish film industry either working at home or abroad. Both Richard’s Academy Award and his recent BAFTA will inspire young Irish creative animators and all those working in, and committed to art, design and the digital media in Ireland.”

Alluding to the high Irish presence at this year’s ceremony the Minister continued: “At this year’s Oscars, Ireland had nominees in five categories, all at the cutting edge of filmmaking – and especially animation, where skills of craftsmanship and storytelling combine with digital technology.

“This global profile of Irish film talent associates Ireland with excellence in creativity and the arts. It follows the ongoing contributions of actors Gabriel Byrne, Liam Neeson, Brendan Gleeson, Brenda Fricker, Saoirse Ronan, Colin Farrell, Jonathan Rhys Meyers, among others, and behind the camera, Neil Jordan, Jim Sheridan and Dearbhla Walsh all of whom are recognised as major contributors to Ireland’s cultural profile internationally.”

Minister Cullen also extended his congratulations to the other Irish nominees represented at the 82nd Academy Awards who were, Tomm Moore from Cartoon Saloon for ‘The Secret of Kells’; Nicky Phelan and Darragh O Connell from Brownbag Films for ‘Granny O Grimm’s Sleeping Beauty’; Juanita Wilson and James Flynn for ‘The Door’ and Peter J. Devlin for sound mixing on ‘Star Trek’.

Kathryn Bigelow, director of ‘The Hurt Locker’, which also won the 2010 IFTA in the category of International Film, saw her film walk away with wins in six categories including Best Picture, Directing, Original Screenplay, Film Editing, Sound Editing and Sound Mixing.

For a full list of Oscar winners visit www.oscars.org

Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

Participants and Host Studios Announced for VFX and Animation Graduate Traineeship
24 Oct 2016 
Screen Training Ireland and Animation Skillnet launch VFX and Animation Graduate Traineeship 2016/17
05 Oct 2016 
Festival Round-Up
22 Jul 2015 
Kerry Film Festival 2015 now open for submissions
09 Apr 2015 

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter