13 June 2024 The Irish Film & Television Network
IFTA Award 2023 full list of winners announced
08 May 2023 : News Desk
Irish Film & Television Awards
Congratulations to the nominees and winners of the IFTA Awards hosted by the Irish Film & Television Academy, which will air tonight on RTÉ tonight.

The 20th Anniversary of the IFTAs was a star-studded affair with host Deirdre O’Kane at the helm. The evening featured appearances by high-profile Irish and international guest presenters representing the very best in world-class filmmaking.

The Banshees of Inisherin won Best Film 2023 with Stephen Rea winning Best Actor in a Drama for his role in The English.

Emmy nominated director Aoife McArdle was announced as the 2023 Fís Éireann / Screen Ireland Rising Star for her work on Apple TV’s hit series, Severance.

Best Actress Film was awarded to Bríd Ní Neachtain for her role in Róise & Frank with Kerry Condon winning for Actress in a Supporting Role for her performance in The Banshees of Inisherin. Paul Mescal won the Actor in a Lead Role - Film award for his moving performance in Aftersun.

Actress in a Lead Role - Drama was awarded to Sharon Horgan for Bad Sisters. Bad Sisters was the big winner across the evening, winning Best Drama plus Best Director Drama for Dearbhla Walsh and Actress in a Supporting Role - Drama, which was awarded to Ann Marie Duff for her powerful performance in the series.

Actor in a Supporting Role - Film was awarded to Brendan Gleeson for his iconic performance in The Banshees of Inisherin with Actor in a Supporting Role - Drama awarded to Ciarán Hinds for his wonderful work in The Dry.

Frank Berry won two awards on the night, Best Director and Best Script Award for his film Aisha. Lisa McGee won the Award for Best Script - Drama for her celebrated work on Derry Girls.

The Academy Award winning film All Quiet on the Western Front won the Award for International Film with Austin Butler winning the Award for International Actor for his leading role as the iconic Elvis. The International Actress Award went to Cate Blanchett for her performance in Tár.

Jim Sheridan presented renowned veteran Costume Designer Joan Bergin with the Irish Academy's Industry Lifetime Achievement Award, for her outstanding contribution to the Irish and international screen industry, across both film and television.

The George Morrison Feature Documentary Award went to Nothing Compares with Best Cinematography awarded to Piers McGrail for It Is In Us All. Best Live Action Short was awarded to the terrific Oscar winning short An Irish Goodbye, while Soft Tissue won Best Animated Short.

The Award for Best Editing went to Jonathan Redmond and Matt Villa for their combined work on Elvis. Best Hair & Make-Up was awarded to Joe Whelan and Tom McInerney for Vikings: Valhalla with Best Production Design going to Tamara Conboy for Aisha.

Best Sound was awarded to Aza Hand, Alan Scully and Adrian Conway for The Sparrow. Best Original Score was awarded to Sarah Lynch for her work in The Dry with Best Costume Design awarded to Consolata Boyle for Enola Holmes 2.

Donal Nolan won Best VFX for The Women King.

The IFTA Awards is funded by Fís Éireann/Screen Ireland, and also supported by the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland (BAI) and RTÉ Television.

Full list of IFTA Award Winners 2023:

Best Film
The Banshees of Inisherin

Best Drama
Bad Sisters

Best International Film
All Quiet on the Western Front

George Morrison Feature Documentary
Nothing Compares

Actor in a Lead Role – Film - 2023
Paul Mescal - Aftersun

Actress in a Lead Role – Film
Bríd Ní Neachtain - Róise & Frank


Actress in a Supporting Role – Film
Kerry Condon - The Banshees of Inisherin


Actor in a Supporting Role – Film - 2023
Brendan Gleeson - The Banshees of Inisherin

Director Film
Frank Berry – Aisha

Actor in a Lead Role – Drama
Stephen Rea - The English 

Actress in a Lead Role – Drama
Sharon Horgan - Bad Sisters
Actor in a Supporting Role – Drama
Ciarán Hinds - The Dry

Actress in a Supporting Role – Drama
Ann Marie Duff – Bad Sisters

Best Script Film
Frank Berry – Aisha

The Irish Academy's Industry Lifetime Achievement Award
Costume Designer Joan Bergin  

Director Drama
Dearbhla Walsh - Bad Sisters

Best Script – Drama
Lisa McGee – Derry Girls

International Actor
Austin Butler - Elvis


International Actress
Cate Blanchett - Tár


Screen Ireland Rising Star – 2023
Aoife McArdle - Director


Best Live Action Short
An Irish Goodbye

Best Animated Short
Soft Tissue


Best Hair & Make-Up
Joe Whelan, Tom McInerney - Vikings: Valhalla


Best Cinematography
Piers McGrail – It Is In Us All

Best Editing
Jonathan Redmond, Matt Villa - Elvis


Best Production Design
Tamara Conboy - Aisha

Best Sound
Aza Hand, Alan Scully, Adrian Conway - The Sparrow

Best Original Score
Sarah Lynch - The Dry

Best Costume Design

Consolata Boyle – Enola Holmes 2

Best VFX

Donal Nolan – The Women King

Bloomsday Film Fest: Director Martin Turk and Line Producer Jeremiah Cullinane discuss Kino Volta
Actors Hannah and Emily Dargan discuss The Watched
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



canli bahis siteleri rulet siteleri deneme bonusu veren siteler bahis siteleri free spin veren siteler deneme bonusu veren yeni siteler yeni casino siteleri yeni bahis siteleri
slot siteleri betwild pashagaming tipobet hizlibahis cratosroyalbet betwoon kumar siteleri bahis siteleri casino siteleri en iyi bet siteleri
grandpashabet spinco betwoon giris cratosroyalbet giris superbet