16 August 2022 The Irish Film & Television Network
Wolfwalkers and Normal People among winners at 2021 Zebbie Awards
11 Nov 2021 : News Desk
Zebbie Awards 2021
The annual Writers’ Guild of Ireland Zebbie Awards returned to the Sugar Club with Wolfwalkers writer Will Collins and Normal People author Sally Rooney picking up the top awards for feature film and TV Drama.

Named in honour of O.Z (Zebby) Whitehead, and presented each year by Senator David Norris, the awards are voted for by members of the Guild. The 2021 Zebbie Awards recognise the best scripts for radio, stage and screen that were written and produced in 2020.

Speaking about this year’s awards, WGI Chair, Jennifer Davidson said: “The 2021 Zebbie Award Ceremony was a long overdue night of celebration & good cheer for the Writers Guild of Ireland. After 19 months of virtual events, getting to celebrate writers & writing in person was a joy.”

“Our warmest congratulations to all the nominees and Zebbie winners,” Davidson continued. “It’s clear from the calibre of talent in the room that Irish writing is going from strength to strength.”

In the Best Feature Film category, Will Collins’ script for Oscar-nominated animated feature film, Wolfwalkers, overcame fellow nominated scripts Herself (Clare Dunne & Malcolm Campbell) and The Bright Side (Jean Pasley & Ruth Meehan). Read our interview with Collins about Wolfwalkers.

The third episode of Sally Rooney’s international success Normal People took the award for Best Television Drama Script. The award went to Sally Rooney and Alice Birch in a category that included The Deceived (Lisa McGee & Tobias Beer) and Malory Towers (Richie Conroy & Mark Hodkinson).

Angela’s Christmas Wish by Damien O’Connor and Boy Girl Dog Cat Mouse Cheese, Episode 50 by Emma Hogan were join winners in the Best Animation Script category, while Best Short Film Script went to Ballast by Jesse Gilbert.

The award for Best Continuing Drama Script went to Senta Rich for Fair City (Series 31; Episode 22). Others nominated in the category included Paul Walker for Red Rock and Eimear Ní Choisdealbha for Ros na Rún.

Other winners on the night included Stuck by Sharon Mannion for Best Radio Script and What I (Don't) Know About Autism by Jody O'Neill for Best Theatre Script.

Tom Collins: “For me it's all about the work, which is about creating a reflection of a modern Irish cultural identity that can travel beyond borders, history and these shores.”
Over €4.6m allocated by Creative Europe to Irish screen industry in 2021
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



bodrum escort bayan escort antalya gumbet escort