18 July 2024 The Irish Film & Television Network
Extra Ordinary Wins Top Prize at Galway as Fleadh Winners are Announced
15 Jul 2019 : News Desk
31st Galway Film Fleadh
The comedic horror parody from Irish directing duo Enda Loughman and Mike Ahern won the Best Irish Film award at the 31st Galway Film Fleadh.

On Sunday July 14, the 31st Galway Film Fleadh came to a close after another outstanding year of Irish and international film premieres, screenings, workshops and discussions. The annual awards ceremony took place before the screening of the closing film Never Grow Old.  

After screening at a packed Town Hall Theatre on Saturday night to high acclaim, the debut feature from writer/directors Mike Ahern and Enda Loughman (aka Team D.A.D.D.Y.) won the Best Irish Film award in association with Danu Media.

Starring comedian/writer/actress Maeve Higgins ('Naked Camera', 'Inside Amy Schumer'), Barry Ward (Jimmy’s Hall, MAZE), Will Forte (Nebraska, Run & Jump), and Claudia O’Doherty (Trainwreck, Love, Inside Amy Schumer), Extra Ordinary tells the story of a driving instructor who must use her other-wordly gifts to save a lonely man's daughter from a rock star looking to use her for Satanic purposes.  

The film is produced by Katie Holly (Citadel, Love & Friendship), Mary McCarthy (Mr Foley, Six Shooter), Yvonne Donohoe (Striking Out) and Ailish Bracken (The Queen of Ireland) for Blinder Films, in co-production with Umedia with funding from Screen Ireland, UMedia and Inevitable Pictures. 

Derry-based feature A Bump Along the Way picked up the Best Irish First Feature in association with Saffrey Champness. Starring Bronagh Gallagher (The Commitments, Pulp Fiction) and Lola Petticrew (Come Home) A Bump along the Way tells the story of fun-loving, 44-year-old single mum Pamela (Gallagher) who becomes pregnant following a one-night-stand, much to the shame of her buttoned-up teenage daughter Allegra (Petticrew). 

Filmed entirely in Derry and led by an all-female creative team, A Bump Along The Way is directed by Shelly Love, written by Tess McGowan, produced by Louise Gallagher and executive produced by Roma Downey.  The film was funded by Northern Ireland Screen and Yellowmoon. Lola Petticrew also won the Bingham Ray New Talent Award for her performance in the film.

Elsewhere, other winners included Cynthia, which won the Tiernan McBride Award for Best Short Drama, while Irish actor Jack Reynor’s directorial debut Bainne starring Will Poulter (The Little Stranger, The Revenant), picked up Best First Short Drama. Ross McClean’s HYDEBANK and Shannon Egan’s Archie’s Bat won the Best Short Documentary Award and The Best First Short Animation Award respectively.

Breaking Out directed by Michael McCormack, won Best Irish Documentary and recipients for The Galway Hooker Award for Outstanding Achievement were James Schamus, Ros Hubbard and Jon Hubbard. Meanwhile at the Marketplace Roisin Jones won the Pitching Award in association with 101 Films for What Would Rocky Do? and Kate Swan won the Best Marketplace Project Award in association with Bankside Films with Watermelon Seeds.

See below for full list of winners at the 31stGalway Film Fleadh   

Best Irish Film in Association with Danu Media

Extra Ordinary


Best Irish First Feature in Association with Saffrey Champness

A Bump Along The Way

Director: Shelly Love

Producer: Louise Gallagher


The Tiernan McBride Award for Best Short Drama in association with Network Ireland Television


Director: Jack Hickey

Producer: Lara Hickey


The Donal Gilligan Award for Best Cinematography in a Short Film in association with Irish Society of Cinematographers

Rip to the Rescue!

Director of Photography: Robin Whenary


The Best Short Documentary Award in association with Gresan na Mean Skillnet Training


Director: Ross McClean

Producers: Noe Mendelle, Flore Cosquer, Christine Morrow & Chris Kelly


The Best First Short Drama in association with Mazars


Director: Jack Reynor

Producers: Lara Hickey & Emer O’Shea


The Best First Short Animation Award

Archie’s Bat

Directed & Produced by Shannon Egan


The James Horgan Award for Best Animation

Streets of Fury

Directed & Produced by Aidan McAteer


Best Cinematography in an Irish Feature in association with Teach Solais


Director of Photography Cathal Watters


Pitching Award in association with 101 Films

What Would Rocky Do?

Pitcher: Roisin Jones


Best Marketplace Project Award in association with Bankside Films

Watermelon Seeds

Project Owner: Kate Swan (Bonnie Film)


Best Irish Documentary

Breaking Out

Director: Michael McCormack

Producer: Aideen O’Sullivan & Michael McCormack


Best International First Feature

The Best of Dorien B.

Director: Anke Blonde

Producers: Dries Phylpo, Jean Claude Van Rijckeghem, Marien Slot


Best International Documentary


Director: Abbie Ainsworth

Producer: Jamie Kastner & Lindsey Kutner


Best International Film

A Bread Factory

Director: Patrick Wang

Producer: Daryl Freimark, Matt Miller, Patrick Wang


Best International Short Documentary

After the Silence

Directed & Produced by Sonam Larcin


Best International Short Animation


Directed & Produced by Leszek Mozga


Best International Short Fiction


Director: Joobeur Meryam

Producers: Maria Gracia Turgeon & Habib Attia


Best Human Rights Film in association with Amnesty International

For Sama

Director: Waad al-Kateab & Edward Watts

Producer: Waas Al-Kateab


Don Quijote Award for Best Animated Short Film


Director: Kayleigh Gibbons

Producer: Richard Gordon

The FICC jury awarded the Don Quijote prize to Featherweight for its touching storytelling style and expressive animation dealing with the universal theme of grief.


Best Animated Sequence in A Short Film in Association with Brown Bag Films

Abe’s Story

Director: Adam H Stewart

Producer: Eilish Kent


The Bingham Ray New Talent Award in Association with Magnolia Pictures

The nominees are:

Mike Ahern - Extra Ordinary

Enda Loughman - Extra Ordinary

Lola Petticrew - A Bump Along The Way

Lauryn Canny - Darlin’

Tristan Heanue - Ciúnas (Silence)

Winner Lola Petticrew (A Bump Along The Way)


The Galway Hooker Award for Outstanding Achievement

The recipients are:

James Schmaus

Ros Hubbard

Jon Hubbard

Netflix reveals first-look image for Kaos starring Jeff Goldblum and Killian Scott
Exclusive: Official poster revealed for The Wise Guy ahead of world premiere at Galway Film Fleadh
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



canli bahis siteleri rulet siteleri deneme bonusu veren siteler bahis siteleri free spin veren siteler deneme bonusu veren yeni siteler yeni casino siteleri yeni bahis siteleri
slot siteleri betwild pashagaming tipobet hizlibahis cratosroyalbet betwoon kumar siteleri bahis siteleri casino siteleri en iyi bet siteleri
grandpashabet spinco betwoon giris cratosroyalbet giris superbet