28 January 2023 The Irish Film & Television Network
Element Pictures' 'The Favourite' Picks Up Golden Globe Award
07 Jan 2019 : Nathan Griffin
Rachel Weisz and Olivia Colman in 'The Favourite'
Irish Production ‘The Favourite’ continued its fantastic awards season run at the 76th Golden Globes in Beverly Hills on Sunday.

Lead actor Olivia Colman took home the award for Best Actress in a Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy.

Other Irish nominees on the night included actor Caitriona Balfe who received her fourth Golden Globe® nomination for Best Actress in a TV Series Drama for her performance in Starz’ ‘Outlander’.

Speaking about the achievement, Element Pictures producers Ed Guiney and Andrew Lowe said:

We are thrilled for Olivia and all the team of The Favourite, led by visionary director Yorgos Lanthimos. This award coincides with the opening weekend for the Favourite in Irish cinemas which gives Irish audiences the opportunity to see the film for themselves. We are very proud of the film and hope that Irish audiences respond to the film as enthusiastically as the international response to date.”

‘The Favourite’ has been a critical and box-office hit since it premiered on the Lido in Venice last August where it scooped the Grand Jury Prize and Olivia Colman won Best Actress. In December the film dominated the BIFA’s (British Independent Film Awards) with a record-breaking 10 awards on the night and grossing over $15min the US to date. The film opened in Ireland and the UK on January 1st and went straight to No2 in the box office that day.

The film stars Olivia Colman and Academy Award winners Rachel Weisz and Emma Stone and marks the third collaboration between Element Pictures and director Yorgos Lanthimos following award-winning films ‘The Lobster’ and ‘The Killing of a Sacred Deer’.

The film was shot by Irish cinematographer Robbie Ryan and was partly post produced in Dublin. It is currently playing in Irish cinemas, released through Fox Searchlight. 

‘The Favourite’ is written by Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara and is produced by Ed Guiney and executive produced by Andrew Lowe for Element Pictures. Other producers include Ceci Dempsey, Lee Magiday and Yorgos Lanthimos. The film is an Element Pictures/Scarlet Films production for Fox Searchlight, Film4 and Waypoint.

‘The Favourite’ is currently in Irish cinemas nationwide.

Full list of winners below:

Best actor in a TV series – musical or comedy

Sacha Baron Cohen – Who Is America?

Jim Carrey – Kidding

WINNER: Michael Douglas – The Kominsky Method

Donald Glover – Atlanta

Bill Hader – Barry

Best animated feature film

Incredibles 2

Isle of Dogs


Ralph Breaks the Internet

WINNER: Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse

Best actor in a TV series – drama

Jason Bateman – Ozark

Stephan James – Homecoming

Billy Porter – Pose

WINNER: Richard Madden – Bodyguard

Matthew Rhys – The Americans

Best TV series – drama

WINNER: The Americans



Killing Eve


Best supporting actor in a limited series or TV movie

Alan Arkin – The Kominsky Method

Kieran Culkin – Succession

Edgar Ramirez – The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story

WINNER: Ben Whishaw – A Very English Scandal

Henry Winkler – Barry

Best actress in a limited series or TV movie

Amy Adams – Sharp Objects

WINNER: Patricia Arquette – Escape at Dannemora

Connie Britton – Dirty John

Laura Dern – The Tale

Regina King – Seven Seconds

Best score

Marco Beltrami – A Quiet Place

Alexandre Desplat – Isle of Dogs

Ludwig Göransson – Black Panther

WINNER: Justin Hurwitz – First Man

Marc Shaiman – Mary Poppins Returns

Best song

All the Stars – Black Panther

Girl in the Movies – Dumplin’

Requiem for a Private War – A Private War

Revelation – Boy Erased

WINNER: Shallow – A Star Is Born

Best supporting actress

Amy Adams – Vice

Claire Foy – First Man

WINNER: Regina King – If Beale Street Could Talk

Emma Stone – The Favourite

Rachel Weisz – The Favourite

Best actress in a TV series – drama

Caitriona Balfe – Outlander

Elisabeth Moss – The Handmaid’s Tale

WINNER: Sandra Oh – Killing Eve

Julia Roberts – Homecoming

Keri Russell – The Americans

Best supporting actor

WINNER: Mahershala Ali – Green Book

Timothée Chalamet – Beautiful Boy

Adam Driver – BlacKkKlansman

Richard E Grant – Can You Ever Forgive Me?

Sam Rockwell – Vice

Best screenplay

Alfonso Cuarón – Roma

Deborah Davis, Tony McNamara – The Favourite

Barry Jenkins – If Beale Street Could Talk

Adam McKay – Vice

WINNER: Nick Vallelonga, Brian Currie, Peter Farrelly – Green Book

Best supporting actress in a limited series or TV movie

Alex Bornstein – The Marvelous Mrs Maisel

WINNER: Patricia Clarkson – Sharp Objects

Penelope Cruz – The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story

Thandie Newton – Westworld

Yvonne Strahovski – The Handmaid’s Tale

Best actor – musical or comedy

WINNER: Christian Bale – Vice

Lin-Manuel Miranda – Mary Poppins Returns

Viggo Mortensen – Green Book

Robert Redford – The Old Man & the Gun

John C Reilly – Stan & Ollie

Best foreign language film



Never Look Away



Best actor in a limited series or TV movie

Antonio Banderas – Genius: Picasso

Daniel Bruhl – The Alienist

WINNER: Darren Criss – The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story

Benedict Cumberbatch – Patrick Melrose

Hugh Grant – A Very English Scandal

Best director

Bradley Cooper – A Star Is Born

WINNER: Alfonso Cuarón – Roma

Peter Farrelly – Green Book

Spike Lee – BlacKkKlansman

Adam McKay – Vice

Best actress in a TV series – musical or comedy

Kristen Bell – The Good Place

Candice Bergen – Murphy Brown

Alison Brie – Glow

WINNER: Rachel Brosnahan – The Marvelous Mrs Maisel

Debra Messing – Will and Grace

Best TV series – musical or comedy


The Good Place


WINNER: The Kominsky Method

The Marvelous Mrs Maisel

Best limited series or TV movie

The Alienist

WINNER: The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story

Escape at Dannemora

Sharp Objects

A Very English Scandal

Best actress – musical or comedy

Emily Blunt – Mary Poppins Returns

WINNER: Olivia Colman – The Favourite

Elsie Fisher – Eighth Grade

Charlize Theron – Tully

Constance Wu – Crazy Rich Asians

Best film – musical or comedy

Crazy Rich Asians

The Favourite

WINNER: Green Book

Mary Poppins Returns


Best actress – drama

WINNER: Glenn Close – The Wife

Lady Gaga – A Star Is Born

Nicole Kidman – Destroyer

Melissa McCarthy – Can You Ever Forgive Me?

Rosamund Pike – A Private War

Best actor – drama

Bradley Cooper – A Star Is Born

Willem Dafoe – At Eternity’s Gate

Lucas Hedges – Boy Erased

WINNER: Rami Malek – Bohemian Rhapsody

John David Washington – BlacKkKlansman

Best film – drama

Black Panther


WINNER: Bohemian Rhapsody

If Beale Street Could Talk

A Star Is Born

Producer Jason Forde on bringing Bagatelle to Irish screens in new TG4 documentary
“These people aren't saying what I think, they're saying what they think, so it's their truth and their reality that you represent;” Director Luke McManus on the Journey of North Circular
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



onwin yeni giris canli bahis rulet siteleri