22 October 2020 The Irish Film & Television Network
IFTA announces winners of 2016 IFTA Film & Drama Awards
11 Apr 2016 : Seán Brosnan
Irish Diaspora Award winner Roma Downey with Guest Presenter Bob Geldof
The winners of the 2016 IFTA Awards for Film and Drama were revealed at the weekend at an awards ceremony at the The Mansion House in Dublin City Centre – with ‘Room’ and ‘An Klondike’ the big winners garnering seven and four awards, respectively.
The event was hosted by Chief Executive of the Irish Film and Television Academy, Áine Moriarty, who congratulated all winners and nominees working in the Irish film and drama industry. These include directors, writers, actors and filmmakers whose work was showcased throughout the evening. The IFTA Awards are the highlight of Ireland’s film and drama calendar and they celebrate the very best of Irish screen talent across film and television.

Hosted by actress and comedienne, Deirdre O’Kane, the Awards Ceremony was recorded by official media partner, TV3, and will be televised on Sunday, April 10th.

Guests who walked the red carpet this evening included Chris O’Dowd, Mia Goth, Jack Reynor, Natalie Dormer, Sarah Greene, Ruth Bradley, Martin McCann, Neil Jordan, Moe Dunford, Van Morrison, Amy Huberman, Andrew Scott, Barry Keoghan, Miriam O’Callaghan, Cathy Belton, Panti Bliss, Clive Standen, Charlie Murphy, Victoria Smurfit, Orla Brady, Mary McGuckian, Eva Birthistle, Evanna Lynch, Paddy Breathnach, Simon Fitzmaurice, John Crowley, Ben Cleary, Catherine Walker, Dara Devaney, Seán T Ó Meallaigh, Barry Ward, Mark O’Halloran, Emma Donoghue and Stephen Fingleton.

Oscar nominated actor Liam Neeson was in Dublin to receive the IFTA Outstanding Contribution to Cinema Award – recognition for his celebrated 30 year career in cinema. Neeson was presented the award by the President of Ireland, Michael D. Higgins, with tributes flowing in for Liam from Martin Scorsese and Steven Spielberg amongst others.

Distinguished actress, producer and humanitarian Roma Downey also received the Irish Diaspora Award presented to her by musician and fellow humanitarian Bob Geldof. The award is presented by the Academy in partnership with the Ministry of Diaspora Affairs within the Department of an Taoiseach. Tributes paid to Downey – best known for playing Monica in Touched By An Angel and for producing epic mini-series The Bible (watched by over 100 million people) as well as for her humanitarian work – includes US Television Presenter Regis Philbin and actor Jack Huston.

Big winners on the night include ‘Room’, produced by Element Pictures in Ireland, which won seven awards in total including Best Film, Best Director for Lenny Abrahamson and Best Script for Emma Donoghue. On the drama side, Abú Media’s Irish language series ‘An Klondike’ won four awards in total including Best Drama and Best Actor for Dara Devaney. Director of ‘The Survivalist’ Stephen Fingleton won the Irish Film Board Rising Star IFTA Award while the George Morrison Feature Documentary IFTA went to Ken Wardrop’s ‘Mom & Me’ while Ben Cleary’s stunning short ‘Stutterer’ won Best Short Film.


  • Best Film: Room
  • Best Director Film: Lenny Abrahamson for Room
  • Best Script Film: Emma Donoghue for Room
  • Irish Film Board Rising Star: Stephen Fingleton
  • Best Lead Actor Film: Michael Fassbender for Steve Jobs
  • Best Lead Actress Film: Saoirse Ronan for Brooklyn
  • Best Supporting Actor Film: Jack Reynor for Sing Street
  • Best Supporting Actress Film: Jane Brennan for Brooklyn
  • George Morrison Feature Documentary: Mom & Me
  • Best Animated Short: Geist
  • Best Short Film: Stutterer
  • Best Drama: An Klondike
  • Best Director Drama: Neasa Hardiman for Happy Valley
  • Best Writer Drama: Marcus Fleming for An Klondike
  • Best Lead Actor Drama: Dara Devaney for An Klondike
  • Best Lead Actress Drama: Ruth Bradley for Rebellion
  • Best Supporting Actor Drama: Moe Dunford for Vikings
  • Best Supporting Actress Drama: Sarah Greene for Penny Dreadful
  • Best Director of Photography: Cathal Watters for Viva
  • Best Costume Design: Joan Bergin for Vikings
  • Best Editing: Nathan Nugent for Room
  • Best M.A.C. Make-Up and Hair: An Klondike
  • Best Original Music: Stephen Rennicks for Room
  • Best Production Design: Tom Conroy for Legend
  • Best Sound: Room
  • Best VFX: The Frankenstein Chronicles (Screen Scene)
  • Best International Film: Spotlight
  • Best International Actor: Leonardo Di Caprio for The Revenant
  • Best International Actress: Brie Larson for Room

The IFTA Film & Drama Awards ceremony will be broadcast on TV3 on Sunday, April 10th at 9pm.

Director Peter Mackie Burns discusses Rialto
Director Ciara Hyland discusses Cogadh ar Mhná
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



bodrum escort bayan escort antalya gumbet escort