24 July 2024 The Irish Film & Television Network
Royal Television Society’s ROI Centre announces winners of Student Television Awards
24 Mar 2016 : Seán Brosnan
The Awards were presented by Bill Malone, Channel Controller of RTÉ2 in five categories: Animation, Open, Comedy & Entertainment, Drama and Factual
The Royal Television Society (RTS) ROI Centre held its annual Student Television Awards at RTÉ in Donnybrook, Dublin yesterday. The Awards were presented by Bill Malone, Channel Controller of RTÉ Two Television in five categories: Animation, Open, Comedy & Entertainment, Drama and Factual.

The award in the Animation Category was presented to Elif Boyacioglu, Lynn O'Reilly and Francesca Saunder from the Irish School of Animation, Ballyfermot College of Further Education for ‘Teacup’. The judges commented that “was a well-crafted animation with great attention to detail.”

The award in the Open Category went to Dave Fox and Naomi Fagan from National Film School, IADT, Dun Laoghaire for ‘Lunchtime Blues’ with the judges commenting that this film “creatively turned a normal event in the life of a school into a sophisticated comedy drama.”

Dundalk Institute of Technology students, Oluwafemi Adenaiya, Aine McEneaney, Maximilian Cope and Linda Alao took home the award in the Comedy & Entertainment Category for ‘Squarepusher My Red Hot Car’, a rapid-paced piece to the music of My Red Hot Car by Squarepusher. The judges stated that this “music video was creative and demonstrated high achievement in light entertainment media.”

John O'Rourke, Rachel Whelan, Marie Mathews and Sean Carroll from The School of Media, Dublin Institute of Technology, were presented with the award in the Drama Category for ‘Battle Scars’. The judges said that this drama, which highlights the contemporary problem of bullying and cyberbullying in school life, was a “well-developed piece, with good attention to all the disciplines of media production.”

The award in the Factual Category also went to The School of Media, Dublin Institute of Technology students. Jon Barton, Louise O'Gallagher, Tommy Flavin and Killian Sundermann took home the award for ‘Grey Area’, which follows embalmer and undertaker, Eamonn Grey. Judges stated that “the realist shots and atmospheric score worked well in this factual piece, which was well crafted and always respectful. Artistic lighting and well-paced editing enhanced the production, which was educational, informative and entertaining throughout.”

Commenting on this year’s award entries, Charles Byrne, Chairman of the RTS Republic of Ireland Centre, said: “The ROI Jury were delighted to have an increase in entries for this year’s RTS ROI Student Awards with two colleges entering for the first time – Dundalk Institute of Technology and Coláiste Dhulaigh – College of Further Education. The Jury was again very impressed with the high standard of entries.”

Netflix reveals first-look image for Kaos starring Jeff Goldblum and Killian Scott
Exclusive: Official poster revealed for The Wise Guy ahead of world premiere at Galway Film Fleadh
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



canli bahis siteleri rulet siteleri deneme bonusu veren siteler bahis siteleri free spin veren siteler deneme bonusu veren yeni siteler yeni casino siteleri yeni bahis siteleri
slot siteleri betwild pashagaming tipobet hizlibahis cratosroyalbet betwoon kumar siteleri bahis siteleri casino siteleri en iyi bet siteleri
grandpashabet spinco betwoon giris cratosroyalbet giris superbet