4 December 2022 The Irish Film & Television Network
Cork FF Reveals Prix UIP Selection
19 Sep 2006 :
  A Lonely Sky - Selected for Cork Prix UIP
The Cork Film Festival (October 8 – 15) has announced the lineup of short films selected for their Prix UIP competition. The Irish festival is one of 14 European Festivals to host the prestigious Prix UIP, in association with the European Film Academy.

The Cork Festival has long been a passionate promoter of the short film. Open to European filmmakers of films made in 2005 or in 2006, the winner of the Cork Prix competition will be shortlisted for the overall European Film Academy Short Film Prix UIP.

The Prix UIP Cork is open to European filmmakers of films made in 2005 or in 2006. All genres are eligible and the film must be no longer than 15 minutes. The winner of the Prix UIP Cork will then be shortlisted (along with the winner from the other host festivals) for the overall European Film Academy Short Film Prix UIP.

Out of a total of 2,300 international shorts submitted to the Cork Film Festival, 64 shorts will participate in the international competition and 29 of these short films from 18 European countries will also compete for the much sought after Prix UIP. These 29 films will also compete in the festival’s international competition.

Five Irish short films have been selected, they are: Nick Ryan’s ‘A Lonely Sky’, Mike Liffey’s ‘If () Then () Else ()’, John Callaghan’s ‘Imagine This’, Matthew Darragh’s ‘Pilgrim’ and John Hayes’ ‘Venom’. Mick Hannigan, Director of the Cork Film Festival said

“It gives us great pleasure to host the prestigious Prix UIP for the first time and I invite members of the public to attend screenings and view the wealth of talent that exists within the European Film industry.”

Tickets for all screenings and the Festival programme will be available from September 30th on www.corkfilmfest.org

The Full Prix UIP Selection:
- A Lonely Sky, Nick Ryan Ireland
- Abendmahl, Johannes Hammel Austria
- Accidents, Martin Smith Scotland
- Boreas, Belma Bas Turkey
- Carnegami , Cagla Zencirci and Guillaume Giovanetti Italy
- Cloudbreak, Simon Eitz Switzerland
- Dad, Daniel Mulloy England
- Dreams And Desires – Family Ties, Joanna Quinn Wales
- Even If She Had Been A Criminal... , Jean-Gabriel Periot France
- If () Then () Else (), Mike Liffey Ireland
- Imagine This, John Callaghan Ireland
- K, Juan Martin Simons Germany
- Kristall, Christoph Girardet & Matthias Muller Germany
- Motodrom, Joerg Wagner Germany
- Mum, Mads Matthiesen Denmark
- Never Like The First Time!, Jonas Odell Sweden
- Nostalgia, Gaute Hesthagen Norway
- Number Vier, Guido Van Der Werve Netherlands
- Pilgrim, Matthew Darragh Ireland
- Santos Palace, Helene Cattet & Bruno Forzani Belgium
- Silence Is Golden, Chris Shepherd England
- Storm And Some Snow, Simon Ellis England
- The Cherry Season, Jean-Julien Chervier France
- The Shutters, Lyece Boukhitine France
- Thought of the Day, Yiannis Gaitanidis Greece
- Venom, John Hayes Ireland
- War, Luiso Berdejo & Jorge C Dorado Spain
- Wayfarers, Igor Strembitskyy Ukraine
- You Made Me Love You, Miranda Pennell England

Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



onwin yeni giris canli bahis rulet siteleri