13 June 2024 The Irish Film & Television Network
Cannes Awards
27 May 1999 :
"Rosetta," a film by Belgian directors Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne, won the Palme d'Or at the 52nd Cannes Film Festival Sunday. Rosetta focus on a young woman's struggle for a normal life as she fights for employment and is obsessed by the fear of disappearing, by the shame of not belonging. 18-year-old Emilie Dequenne, who plays the beleaguered title character in "Rosetta" also shared the best actress prize.

French entry by Bruno Dumont, "Humanity," won the Grand Jury Prize and the jury handed it two more awards, with two acting prizes to Emmanuel Schotte as best actor and to Severine Caneele, who shared the best actress prize Emilie Dequenne. Humanity is the story of police lieutenant Pharaon De Winter and his na´ve existence. A sober and humble man burdened with the wrongdoing of others and suffering endlessly from this empathy

All three who won bast actor and best actress are non-professionals.

Pedro Almodovar accepted the best director award for his comic melodrama "All About My Mother," the festival's biggest popular hit dealing with a woman's search for her dead son's transexual father in Barcelona.

The screenwriting award went to Yuri Arabov and Marina Koreneva for their study of a day in the life of Adolf Hitler and Eva Braun, "Moloch,".

The Jury Prize was given to Manoel de Oliveira, who was in competition with "The Letter."

Camera d'Or, the prize for best first film went to Indian director Murali Nair's short feature "Throne Of Death," which was presented in the Un Certain Regard sidebar.

Chinese director Chen Kaige accepted the Technical Grand Prize on behalf of Tu Juhua, his production designer on "The Emperor and the Assassin."

Director David Cronenberg headed a jury consisted of directors Andre Techine, George Miller, Maurizio Nichetti and Doris Dorrie, playwright Yasmina Reza, opera singer Barbara Hendricks and actors Dominique Blanc, Holly Hunter and Jeff Goldblum.

Unanimous winner of the Palme d'Or for short film went to "When the Day Breaks," a Canadian entry by Wendy Tilby and Amanda Forbis. Jury Prize was shared by Song Ilgon's "So-Poong" from South Korea and Rodolphe Marconi's "Stop" from France.

Members of the shorts jury were Thomas Vinterberg, president, and Virginie Ledoyen, Greta Scacchi, Cedric Klapisch and Walter Salles.

Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



canli bahis siteleri rulet siteleri deneme bonusu veren siteler bahis siteleri free spin veren siteler deneme bonusu veren yeni siteler yeni casino siteleri yeni bahis siteleri
slot siteleri betwild pashagaming tipobet hizlibahis cratosroyalbet betwoon kumar siteleri bahis siteleri casino siteleri en iyi bet siteleri
grandpashabet spinco betwoon giris cratosroyalbet giris superbet