22 July 2024 The Irish Film & Television Network

Irish Film and Television Network


Education / Training


Training News

Claire McCabe and Rory Fleck-Byrne selected for 2023 UK & Ireland Stars of Tomorrow
29 Jun 2023 : Luke Shanahan
Rory Fleck-Byrne and Claire McCabe
Screen International has unveiled the 2023 edition of Stars of Tomorrow, highlighting up-and-coming actors and filmmakers in Ireland and the UK.

This year is the 20th edition of the annual talent showcase, which has been tracking emerging talent in Ireland and the UK since 2004. Irish producer Claire McCabe (The Ghost of Richard Harris) and actor-filmmaker Rory Fleck-Byrne (This is Going to Hurt) have been selected as part of this year’s Stars of Tomorrow.

English actor Kit Connor (Heartstopper), the lead of upcoming horror film One of Us which wrapped shooting in Belfast earlier this year, was also among those selected.

“Two decades is enough to confidently say Stars of Tomorrow has the best track record in the business of identifying creative talent with a dazzling future,” said Fionnuala Halligan, Screen International’s executive editor. “All the way through from this story you are reading to Baftas and Oscars, with Cannes and Venice in between. Next stop: the red carpet.”

She added: “The line-up in 2023 is as stellar as ever, coming to you from across both countries, and the aim is to present a snapshot of where we are in the independent filmmaking sector. It’s impressive for an industry that’s struggling - these are the people dedicated to it and whose energy will carry it forward. The same goes for so many others who applied.”

Irish alumni of Stars of Tomorrow include Ruth Negga (2005), Jessie Buckley (2017), Niamh Algar (2018), Paul Mescal (2020) and Daryl McCormack (2021).

Other notable alumni include Benedict Cumberbatch and Andrea Arnold (2004), David Oyelowo and , Riz Ahmed (2005) Andrea Riseborough (2006), Dev Patel, Gugu Mbatha-Raw and Andrew Haigh (2008), Daniel Kaluuya (2009), John Boyega (2011), Jack Lowden and Phoebe Waller-Bridge (2014), Florence Pugh and Jodie Comer (2016), Michaela Coel (2017), and Ncuti Gawa and Emma Corrin (2020).

All of this year’s UK & Ireland Stars of Tomorrow will take part in a special event in London on July 5th.

The full list of the UK & Ireland Stars of Tomorrow 2023 is as follows:


  • Marisa Abela
  • Ronke Adekoluejo
  • Samuel Bottomley
  • Kit Connor
  • Emily Fairn
  • Bilal Hasna
  • Arthur Hughes
  • Natey Jones
  • David Jonsson
  • Mia McKenna-Bruce
  • Stephen McMillan
  • Safia Oakley-Green
  • Amaka Okafor
  • Posy Sterling
  • Ruby Stokes
  • Leo Woodall
  • Sky Yang


  • Rory Fleck Byrne


  • Tasha Back (cinematographer)
  • Nathan Bryon, Tom Melia (writers)
  • Joseph Charlton (writer)
  • Clare-Louise English, Jo Sargeant (director/writer/producers)
  • Nadia Fall (director)
  • Jack Benjamin Gill (writer/director)
  • Danielle Goff (producer)
  • Claire McCabe (producer)
  • Adeyemi Michael (writer/director)
  • Nathalie Pitters (cinematographer)
  • Sandhya Suri (writer/director)
  • Nour Wazzi (writer/director)

Netflix reveals first-look image for Kaos starring Jeff Goldblum and Killian Scott
Exclusive: Official poster revealed for The Wise Guy ahead of world premiere at Galway Film Fleadh
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



canli bahis siteleri rulet siteleri deneme bonusu veren siteler bahis siteleri free spin veren siteler deneme bonusu veren yeni siteler yeni casino siteleri yeni bahis siteleri
slot siteleri betwild pashagaming tipobet hizlibahis cratosroyalbet betwoon kumar siteleri bahis siteleri casino siteleri en iyi bet siteleri
grandpashabet spinco betwoon giris cratosroyalbet giris superbet