22 August 2019 The Irish Film & Television Network
Education / Training
Festivals / Markets
Locations Ireland
Post Production
Rep Bodies
Festivals / Markets
Irish Festivals & Markets
Who's Who
Festivals Jan - Dec
International Festivals A - Z
Markets News
Festivals News
Site Map

Irish Film and Television Network


Festivals / Markets


Festivals News

Two Irish Cinematographers Nominated for American Society of Cinematographers Awards
08 Jan 2019 : Nathan Griffin
Irish Cinematographers Cathal Watters and Robbie Ryan
Irish cinematographers Robbie Ryan and Cathal Watters have been nominated for respective awards at the 33rd ASC Awards ceremony.

Cathal Watters has been nominated for best cinematography in an ‘Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television’ for his work on BBC Drama ‘Peaky Blinders’. Other nominees include Gonzalo Amat (‘The Man in the High Castle’), Adriano Goldman (‘The Crown’), David Klein (‘Homeland’), Colin Watkinson (‘The Handmaid’s Tale’) and Zoe White (‘The Handmaid’s Tale’).

Speaking about the nomination, Cathal Watters told IFTN:

“I am absolutely thrilled to be nominated for an ASC award for Peaky Blinders. I really enjoyed working on the series along with director David Caffery. It was an amazing experience to work with such an incredible cast and crew and to be recognised by the American Society of Cinematographers means so much to me. I feel I have learned so much from their society over the years. It's incredible also to be nominated with fellow ISC member Robbie Ryan as his work has always been exceptional.”

Robbie Ryan has been nominated for best cinematography in a ‘Theatrical Release’ for his work on Yorgos Lanthimos’ ‘The Favourite’. Ryan is joined by Oscar-winning director Alfonso Cuaron (‘Roma’), Matthew Libatique (‘A Star Is Born’), Linus Sandgren (‘First Man’) and Lukasz Zal (‘Cold War’).

Speaking about the nomination, Robbie Ryan told IFTN:

“I’m delighted to get the nomination. It doesn’t get much bigger than that! I’m very lucky to have been involved with such an amazing film and director!”

The ASC Awards has become a great indicator for the Academy Awards with 6 recipients going on to pick up the Oscar for cinematography over the past 10 years.

The ASC Awards will take place on February 9th at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

Full list of nominees:

Theatrical Release

Alfonso Cuaron


Matthew Libatique, ASC

A Star Is Born

Robbie Ryan, BSC, ISC

The Favourite

Linus Sandgren, ASC, FSF

First Man

Lukasz Zal, PSC

Cold War


Joshua James Richards

The Rider

Giorgi Shvelidze


Frank van den Eeden, NSC, SBC


Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television

Gonzalo Amat

The Man in the High Castle, "Jahr Null"

Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC

The Crown, "Beryl"

David Klein, ASC

Homeland, "Paean to the People"

Colin Watkinson, ASC

The Handmaid's Tale, "The Word"

Cathal Watters, ISC

Peaky Blinders, "The Company"

Zoe White, ACS

The Handmaid's Tale, "Holly"

Episode of a Series for Commercial Television

Nathaniel Goodman, ASC
Timeless, "The King of the Delta Blues"

Jon Joffin, ASC
Beyond, "Two Zero One"

Ben Richardson
Yellowstone, "Daybreak”

David Stockton, ASC
Gotham, "A Dark Knight: Queen Takes Knight"

Thomas Yatsko, ASC
Damnation, "A Different Species"


Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television

James Friend, BSC

Patrick Melrose, "Bad News"

Mathias Herndl, AAC

Genius: Picasso, "Chapter 1"

Florian Hoffmeister, BSC

The Terror, "Go for Broke"

M. David Mullen, ASC

The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, "Pilot"

Brendan Steacy, CSC

Alias Grace, "Part 1"

Dead Still, Headcases and Dublin Murders Lead the Way for RTÉ's New Season
Screen Skills and Animation Skillnet Offer Assistant Editing for Animated Features Course
Aisling Bea’s New Comedy Series ‘This Way Up’ Begins Streaming on Hulu
Damien Molony Talks Brassic Ahead of its Debut on Sky One this Thursday at 10pm

Aisling Bea’s New Comedy Series ‘This Way Up’ Begins Streaming on Hulu
Damien Molony Talks Brassic Ahead of its Debut on Sky One this Thursday at 10pm
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

Element Pictures Appoint New Head of TV Development
18 Jul 2019 
Principal Photography Commences on Element Pictures TV Adaption of 'Normal People' for BBC Three and Hulu
30 May 2019 
Deadpan Co-Founder and Producer Ailish McElmeel Selected for Inside Pictures Programme 2019
29 Apr 2019 
Sé Merry Doyle's The Loopline Collection Vol. 1 Released on IFI Player
16 Apr 2019 
Dead Still, Headcases and Dublin Murders Lead the Way for RTÉ's New Season
‘Innocent Boy’ Named Winner of Virgin Media Discovers Short Film Competition
Irish Documentarian Pat Collins to World Premiere New Irish Film at TIFF
Northern Irish Film A Bump Along The Way Selected for Toronto Film Festival
Irish Production Companies
Listings for Irish film & television production companies
What's In Production?
The latest info on projects filming in Ireland
Latest Industry Jobs
Job listings for Irish film & television crew

Find us on Facebook
Follow IFTN on Twitter
E-Newsletter Subscribe
Subscribe to RSS Feed

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter