18 July 2024 The Irish Film & Television Network
Education / Training
Festivals / Markets
Locations Ireland
Post Production
Rep Bodies

Joan Bergin to receive Lifetime Achievement Award at 20th Anniversary IFTA Awards
24 Apr 2023 : News Desk
Joan Bergin
The 20th Anniversary Irish Academy Awards Ceremony (the IFTAs), will be hosted by Deirdre O’Kane. The Red Carpet will be unveiled at the new Dublin Royal Convention Centre, beside Dublin Castle, on Sunday, 7th May, and broadcast on RTÉ. The IFTA Awards are funded by Fís Éireann/Screen Ireland, the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland (BAI) and Tourism Ireland.

To mark this milestone 20th year, IFTA has announced that renowned Costume Designer Joan Bergin will be honoured with the Irish Academy’s Industry Lifetime Achievement Award, for her outstanding contribution to the Irish and international screen industry, across both film and television. 

Bergin is an international multi award-winning designer who has worked with some of the best directors and actors in the world including Jim Sheridan, Christopher Nolan, Mike Newell, Joel Schumacher, Neil Jordan, and has designed costumes for stars such as Daniel Day-Lewis, Amy Adams, Hugh Jackman, Scarlett Johansson, Christian Bale, Kate Winslet, Cate Blanchett, Alan Rickman, Emily Watson, Paul Mescal, and Richard Harris.

Joan has worked on iconic productions such as Disenchanted (for which she is also IFTA nominated this year), The Prestige, The Tudors, Vikings, In The Name of the Father, The Field, and My Left Foot.

“To mark 20 years, the Irish Academy is delighted to present Joan Bergin with the highest honour the Academy can bestow on behalf of this industry as a whole,” said IFTA CEO Áine Moriarty, acknowledging Bergin’s contributions to Irish filmmaking. “She has been such an influential and prolific figure across the Irish screen industry for over 40 years. Joan has been an avid member and supporter of the Irish Academy since its inception in 2003 and an extraordinary mentor to new talent coming through, sharing her knowledge and expertise for new generations to come.  We are all so very proud of her achievements.”

“I am truly delighted to be the recipient of such a prestigious honour from the Irish Academy on this 20th Anniversary of Ireland’s own ‘Oscar salute’ to our craft and skills.” responded Joan Bergin. “In this age of saturated coverage of the stars, across an industry that grows through strength and daring, and poses a competitive challenge to all, it is a personal pleasure to receive this award for my craft and on behalf of my crew from the Irish Academy.”

Bergin leads a roster of incredible women being recognised on the night, including the cast of Bad Sisters, Sharon Horgan’s Apple Original Series, as well as female-led film titles Aisha, The Wonder, God’s Creatures, and Róise & Frank. In the mix for Drama are woman-focused titles such as Derry Girls, Smother, Conversations With Friends, and The Dry.

The Best Film nominees this year showcase a diverse and exciting line-up of Irish feature films, with Aisha, The Banshees of Inisherin, God’s Creatures, Lakelands, Róise & Frank, and The Wonder vying for the night’s biggest award.

The Best Drama category consists of Bad Sisters, Conversations With Friends, Derry Girls, Smother, The Dry, and Vikings: Valhalla.

Among the Actor Award nominees on the night are Jessie Buckley, Brendan Gleeson, Caitriona Balfe, Andrew Scott, Colin Farrell, Sharon Horgan, Ciarán Hinds, Paul Mescal, Stephen Rea, Anne Marie Duff, Barry Keoghan, Aisling Franciosi, Sarah Greene, Genevieve O’Reilly, Kerry Condon, Pierce Brosnan, Dervla Kirwan, Jason O’Mara, Liam Neeson, Aidan Turner, Brenda Fricker, Seána Kerslake, Moe Dunford, Tommy Tiernan, Elaine Cassidy, Eileen Walsh, Eve Birthistle, Eanna Hardwicke, Eve Hewson, Conleth Hill, Brian Gleeson, Michael Smiley, Bríd Ní Neachtain, and more. 

With first-time IFTA nominees in attendance including Daryl McCormack, Siobhan McSweeney, Danielle Galligan, Alison Oliver, Roisin Gallagher, Kelly Gough, Vinnie McCabe, Kerr Logan, and newcomers Zara Devlin, Ollie West, Kíla Lord Cassidy, and Alisha Weir. 

Irish actors also attending are John C. Reilly, Liam Cunningham, Charlie Murphy, AJ Buckley, Victoria Smurfit, Niamh Algar, and Clare Dunne, among others.

Among the Film and Drama Directors being recognised on the night include Dearbhla Walsh, Martin McDonagh, Dathaí Keane, Lenny Abrahamson, Paddy Breathnach, Antonia Campbell Hughes, Emer Reynolds, and first-time nominees Rachael Moriarty & Peter Murphy, Laura Way, and Aoife McArdle.

A special welcome will be given on the night to Oscar winners including the cast and filmmakers of An Irish Goodbye and Netflix’s All Quiet On The Western Front, fresh from winning numerous international awards including Best International Feature Film at the 95th Academy Awards, and who are also IFTA nominated.

Netflix reveals first-look image for Kaos starring Jeff Goldblum and Killian Scott
Exclusive: Official poster revealed for The Wise Guy ahead of world premiere at Galway Film Fleadh
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



canli bahis siteleri rulet siteleri deneme bonusu veren siteler bahis siteleri free spin veren siteler deneme bonusu veren yeni siteler yeni casino siteleri yeni bahis siteleri
slot siteleri betwild pashagaming tipobet hizlibahis cratosroyalbet betwoon kumar siteleri bahis siteleri casino siteleri en iyi bet siteleri
grandpashabet spinco betwoon giris cratosroyalbet giris superbet