27 January 2023 The Irish Film & Television Network

Irish Film and Television Network




Features & Interviews

Festival Round-Up
22 Jul 2015 : Seán Brosnan
2013 Guth Gafa ‘Next Generation’ winners from DKIT for their film ‘Kinds of Blue’
Guth Gafa’s 'Next Generation' student short documentary competition returns for 2015, Irish co-production ‘The Lobster’ is opening day film at the Sarajevo Film Festival and the deadline is approaching for submissions to the Kerry Film Festival.

Return of Guth Gafa 'Next Generation' Short Documentary Student Competition

Guth Gafa's 'Next Generation' student short documentary competition has returned. Shortlisted films will be screened as part of this year's festival from Oct 2nd - 4th 2015 in Kells, Co. Meath and the winners will be announced during the festival.

This is the third time that Guth Gafa will host this unique competition. Students from all across Ireland are invited to submit their short documentaries (maximum length is 10 minutes) on themes in the areas of human rights and social and environmental issues.

The winner of the competition will receive an industry-sponsored production and post-production package that will assist them in making their next film (details TBC & to be used within 12 months of winning). The previous winners of the competition in 2013 were Joske Slabbers, Catherine Mc Grath & Jay Javeri from the BA in Video & Film Production in Dundalk Institute of Technology for their film 'Kinds of Blue'.

'Next Generation' is a competitive programme which will screen up to 10 shortlisted outstanding films from Irish film/media students currently attending an undergraduate or postgraduate film/media studies course in either the Republic of Ireland and/or Northern Ireland. Submissions from recent graduates (i.e., within the last year), who made their films while still in college will also be considered (see submission guidelines on submission form – link below).

An international jury of at least three attending industry experts and/or filmmakers will choose the best of these student documentaries and the winner will be announced following the screening of the shortlisted films at the festival.

The deadline for submissions is midnight Friday, August 28th 2015. Submission is completely free and online and the submission form can be accessed at https://goo.gl/817Y44.

For more information on the competition (including the full terms and conditions) see the Guth Gafa website at guthgafa.com or contact sarah@guthgafa.com.

Irish co-pro ‘The Lobster’ is opening day film at Sarajevo

‘The Lobster’, Yorgos Lanthimos’s critically acclaimed Cannes hit, will be one of the opening day films of the Sarajevo Film Festival’s non-competitive strand Kinoscope.

The festival will take place from August 14-22.

A surreal, romantic drama and winner of the Jury Prize at the 2015 Cannes Film Festival, ‘The Lobster’ stars Colin Farrell and Rachel Weisz with a supporting cast including Léa Seydoux, Ben Whishaw, John C.Reilly, Olivia Colman and Ashley Jensen.

The film is the English language debut of Greek director Lanthimos, who first came to international prominence with debut feature ‘Dogtooth’, winner of the Un Certain Regard Prize in Cannes and nominated for Best Foreign Language Film at the 2011 Academy Awards.

Shot at Parknasilla in Co. Kerry in Spring 2014, ‘The Lobster’ is written by Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthimis Filippou and produced by Ed Guiney, Lee Magiday, Ceci Dempsey and Yorgos Lanthimos. Executive Producers are Andrew Lowe, Tessa Ross and Sam Lavender with Isabel Davis as the lead executive for the BFI Film Fund. The film was developed by Element and Irish finance for the film came from the Irish Film Board with Rory Gilmartin as the lead executive for the IFB.

‘The Lobster’ will be released in Ireland by Element Pictures Distribution on 16 October 2015.

Deadline approaching for the Kerry Film Festival

The deadline for submission for the Kerry Film Festival is Saturday, July 25th, 2015.

Entries are invited for its’ short film competition in categories such as Best Narrative, Best Documentary, Best Animated Film, and Best Original Score.

KFF has previously featured successful shorts such as the Oscar short-listed ‘Head over Heels’ in 2012 and the 2014 Oscar winner ‘Mr Hublot’.

Emerging filmmakers are at the core of the Kerry Film Festival programme, with the short film competition geared towards showcasing their work and bringing it to a wider audience both at home and throughout a growing network of partner festivals across the globe.

KFF will once again include the category for Best Original Score stating that Film music is a critical part of the storytelling and is often the most memorable element of a film, so important an element in fact that there will be a number of satellite activities focusing on film scores at this year’s festival.

Filmmakers have the chance for their work to be seen by a panel of adjudicators which has in recent years included leading lights such as Richard Baneham who is an Academy Award and BAFTA winning Animator, ‘Dawn of the Planet of the Apes’ Screenwriter Mark Bomback, Directors Lenny Abrahamson and Paul Greengrass, and Producer Finola Dwyer.

KFF works to promote the best in filmmaking, endorsing the short film as a significant film genre and assigning the short equal status to the feature. As credit for its efforts in this regard, Kerry Film Festival is listed as the Best Short Film Festival in Ireland and one of the top in the world by ifilmfestapp.com.

The final closing date for submissions to the 2015 competition is 25th July. Check out www.kerryfilmfestival.com for full details on how to submit your entry.

Producer Jason Forde on bringing Bagatelle to Irish screens in new TG4 documentary
“These people aren't saying what I think, they're saying what they think, so it's their truth and their reality that you represent;” Director Luke McManus on the Journey of North Circular
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



onwin yeni giris canli bahis rulet siteleri