10 June 2023 The Irish Film & Television Network

Irish Film and Television Network




Digital News

Three Irish nominated for 2023 American Society of Cinematographers' Awards
12 Jan 2023 : Nathan Griffin
Kate McCullough is nominated for An Cailín Ciúin.
Three Irish cinematographers have been recognised by the American Society of Cinematographers' Awards for their fantastic work on Westworld, Atlanta, and An Cailín Ciúin.

Kate McCullough, hot off the back of winning the award Best European Cinematographer at the European Film Award, has been nominated in the Spotlight Award category for her work on Irish language Oscar contender An Cailín Ciúin.

McCullough is one of three to be nominated for the Award alongside Sturla Brandth Grøvlen, DFF for War Sailor and Andrew Wheeler for God’s Country.

Speaking about her first ASC Award nomination, Irish cinematogrpaher Kate McCullough told IFTN: “To be recognised by those I hold in such high esteem at the ASC is a true honour. This delicate little gem of a film continues to touch hearts way beyond our expectations. My work is only ever as good as the cast and crew that surround me. And what an affinity I had with director Colm Bairead, a collaborator in the truest sense of the word.”

John Conroy, ASC, ISC has been nominated for his work on Westworld – “Années Folles” in the Best Episode of One Hour Non-Commercial Television Series category. He is nominated alongside Catherine Goldschmidt for House of the Dragon, Alejandro Martinez for House of the Dragon, M. David Mullen, ASC for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, Alex Nepomniaschy, ASC for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, and Nikolaus Summerer for 1899.

“I’m honoured to be nominated for a third time. When I started out, I didn’t think I would ever be. I’m so lucky & I feel truly blessed,” Conroy told IFTN, when speaking about his nomination.

Conroy won his first ASC Award for his work on The Terror back in 2020, in the Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography in Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television category. He has also previously been nominated for a Primetime Emmy in 2010 for his work on Luther.

Stephen Murphy BSC, ISC has been nominated for his work on Donald Glover’s multi-Emmy winning series Atlanta - “New Jazz” in the Episode of a Half-Hour Series category. Murphy is nominated alongside Adam Bricker for Hacks, Carl Herse for Barry, Ula Pontikos, BSC for Russian Doll, and fellow crewmate Christian Sprenger, ASC for Atlanta.

Winners will be announced during the 37th Annual ASC Awards ceremony on March 5, 2023, at The Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills, California, which will be live streamed worldwide.

Click here to view the full list of nominees for the 37th Annual ASC Awards.

“It was such an unlikely path,” John C. Reilly discusses career and craft at IFTA Masterclass
First look at Galway Film Fleadh programme 35th Edition
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



onwin yeni giris canli bahis rulet siteleri