7 December 2022 The Irish Film & Television Network
John Deery Receives U.S. NBR Special Recognition
03 Dec 2004 :

Conspiracy of Silence

John Deery’s debut feature ‘Conspiracy Of Silence’ as been honoured alongside ‘Fahrenheit 9/11’ and ‘The Passion of the Christ’ for the Special Recognition of Films that Reflect the Freedom of Expression from the U.S. National Board of Review of Motion Pictures.

Now in its 96th year the NBR boasts no commercial ties to the industry and screens over 300 films per year in order to honor the very best in a variety of categories. ‘Conspiracy of Silence,’ which opens in the US today, addresses the question of celibacy in the Catholic Church.

The film features a cast that includes newcomer Jonathan Forbes, Hugh Bonneville (Stage Beauty, Iris), Brenda Fricker (My Left Foot) and Sean McGinley (Man About Dog, The Family). After premiering at the Galway Film Fleadh in 2003 Deery was nominated in the Best Director category of the Irish Film and Television Awards 2003 and the film was screened at the AFI and Montreal film festivals last year.

The NBR has also named ‘Finding Neverland’ Film of The Year with Spanish film ‘The Sea Inside’ winning Best Foreign Film. The winners will receive their awards at a gala ceremony in New York City on the 11th of January 2005.

The full list of winners are:


1.  Finding Neverland

2.  The Aviator

3.  Closer

4.  Million Dollar Baby

5. Sideways

6.  Kinsey

7.  Vera Drake

8.  Ray

9.  Collateral

10.  Hotel Rwanda


1. The Sea Inside

2.  Bad Education

3.  Maria Full of Grace

4.  The Chorus (Les Choristes)

5.  The Motorcycle Diaries


1.  Born into Brothels

2.  Z Channel:  A Magnificent Obsession

3.  Paper Clips

4.  Supersize Me

5.  The Story of the Weeping Camel

Best Film:   Finding Neverland

Best Foreign Language Film :   The Sea Inside

Best Documentary :   Born into Brothels

Best Animated Feature:   The Incredibles

Best Actor:   Jamie Foxx, Ray

Best Actress :   Annette Bening, Being Julia

Best Supporting Actor :    Thomas Haden Church, Sideways

Best Supporting Actress :   Laura Linney, Kinsey

Best Acting by an Ensemble :    Closer

Breakthrough Performance Actor :   Topher Grace, In Good Company and P.S.

Breakthrough Performance Actress :   Emmy Rossum,   The Phantom of the Opera


Best Director :   Michael Mann, Collateral

Best Directorial Debut :   Zach Braff, Garden State

Best Adapted Screenplay :   Sideways , Alexander Payne and Jim Taylor

Best Original Screenplay:   Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Charlie Kaufman

Outstanding Production Design :   House of Flying Daggers

Outstanding Film Music Composition:  Finding Neverland, 

Jan A. P. Kaczmarek

Career Achievement :   Jeff Bridges

Special Filmmaking Achievement:   Clint Eastwood, for producing, directing, acting, and composing the score of   Million Dollar Baby

William K. Everson Award for Film History : Richard Schickel

Producers Award: Jerry Bruckheimer

Special Recognition of Films that Reflect the Freedom ofExpression :

Fahrenheit 9/11, The Passion of the Christ, Conspiracy of Silence


Special Mention for Excellence in Filmmaking

The National Board of Review, in keeping with its long tradition of recognizing excellence in filmmaking, is proud to salute the following films, crafted by visionary artists which demonstrate the creativity and determination which have always been vital to the film industry:

(Listed alphabetically)

The Assassination of Richard Nixon

Before Sunset
The Door in the Floor
Enduring Love
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
Facing Windows
Garden State
A Home at the End of the World
Imaginary Heroes
Since Otar Left

Stage Beauty


The Woodsman

Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



onwin yeni giris canli bahis rulet siteleri