22 July 2024 The Irish Film & Television Network
Screen Ireland announce 2024 Puttnam Scholars
19 Jun 2024 : News Desk
David Puttnam
Screen Ireland, Atticus Education and Northern Ireland Screen have announced the eight filmmakers that will partake in this year’s Puttnam Scholars programme.

A cross-border initiative, the Atticus Education ‘Puttnam Scholars’ programme is a series of interactive online seminars for early-to-mid career filmmakers with Oscar-winning producer David Puttnam (Local Hero, Chariots of Fire, The Killing Fields), run in conjunction with Screen Ireland and Northern Ireland Screen. The programme is supported by Accenture Song, the world's largest tech-powered creative group.

Now in its fifth year, the Puttnam Scholars programme offers eight talented people from both sides of the border the chance to help develop their creative resilience and professional acumen and forge cultural connections and stimulate business networks across the island of Ireland.
This year each participant will receive a bursary of €1,000, sponsored by Accenture Song, on completion of the programme.

Every year Lord Puttnam invites special guests to join some of the seminars to reflect on their recent work and to offer advice to the scholars – this year’s participants can look forward to meeting Jonathan Glazer and Jim Miller (Director and Producer, The Zone of Interest), Paul Laverty (Screenwriter, The Old Oak, The Wind That Shakes the Barley), and Paula Heffernan and Chelsea Morgan Hoffman (Head of Production and Producer, Element Pictures).

The 2024 participants were chosen by Northern Ireland Screen and Screen Ireland following an application process. This year the participants come from wide-ranging backgrounds that include writing, producing, directing, documentary making, Irish language production, and children’s content:

  • Claire Frances Byrne – Director / Writer selected by Screen Ireland
  • Ian Hunt-Duffy – Director selected by Screen Ireland
  • Cara Loftus – Writer selected by Screen Ireland
  • Colin Thornton – Writer / Producer selected by Screen Ireland
  • Eoin Cleland – Director / Writer selected by Northern Ireland Screen
  • Sarah Gordon – Director / Writer selected by Northern Ireland Screen
  • Nicky Larkin – Director / Writer / Documentary Maker selected by Northern Ireland Screen
  • Suzanne McNally – Producer selected by Northern Ireland Screen

“Our sincere congratulations to the successful screenwriters, directors and producers selected for the Puttnam Scholars programme,” said Désirée Finnegan, Chief Executive of Screen Ireland. “Screen Ireland is delighted to partner with Northern Ireland Screen and Atticus Education on this initiative. We hope that each of the participants will be inspired by their peers, the excellent line-up of special guests and the three week-long programme led by world-renowned producer David Puttnam. We wish the successful candidates every success in the future in their filmmaking journeys.”

Richard Williams, Chief Executive of Northern Ireland Screen, said: “Congratulations to the 2024 Puttnam Scholars, this initiative is incredibly valuable for emerging filmmakers to have the chance to learn from an industry leader like David Puttnam at such a crucial stage in their careers. With his vast experience and expertise, David provides invaluable insights and guidance to help these filmmakers hone their skills and overcome industry challenges. We are delighted to be working with Screen Ireland again on this initiative and wish all the participants the best of luck.”

Netflix reveals first-look image for Kaos starring Jeff Goldblum and Killian Scott
Exclusive: Official poster revealed for The Wise Guy ahead of world premiere at Galway Film Fleadh
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



canli bahis siteleri rulet siteleri deneme bonusu veren siteler bahis siteleri free spin veren siteler deneme bonusu veren yeni siteler yeni casino siteleri yeni bahis siteleri
slot siteleri betwild pashagaming tipobet hizlibahis cratosroyalbet betwoon kumar siteleri bahis siteleri casino siteleri en iyi bet siteleri
grandpashabet spinco betwoon giris cratosroyalbet giris superbet