23 September 2023 The Irish Film & Television Network
Selected recipients revealed for Screen Ireland's Director Conceptual Development Fund
31 Aug 2020 : Nathan Griffin
Screen Ireland
Screen Ireland has announced the 27 projects selected for The Voice: a new Director Conceptual Development Fund aimed at generating exceptional screen work with the early creative leadership of a director.

The fund was opened in May in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, as part of a suite of measures to provide practical and effective support for production companies and creative talent. Collaborating closely with the Screen Directors Guild of Ireland, The Voice was conceived as an investment in the director’s early vision to develop high-value projects for film, TV (both animation and live action) and documentary.

27 emerging and established directors’ projects have been selected for the scheme, each setting out a vision for an ambitious mixture of multiplatform formats, innovative genre projects and creative IP development. The aim of the scheme is to enable directors to create a proof of concept for a feature film or TV series ready to take to a production company or directly to the market.

The successful directors and projects are:

  • Hugh O'Connor - This Fire (Feature Film)
  • Ruth Meehan - How To Be Liked (Transmedia Series)
  • Kim Bartley - The Fence (Documentary)
  • Lorcan Finnegan - Strange Coast (TV Drama)
  • Margaret Corkery - The Holiday (Feature Film)
  • Alan Gilsenan - The Parting Glass (Feature Film)
  • Dearbhla Walsh - Prodigal (Feature Film)
  • Kristen Sheridan - Grace (TV Drama)
  • Paddy Breathnach - Cold Eye (Feature Film)
  • Lee Cronin - Evil Dad (TV Drama)
  • James Cotter - Fiona’s Demons (TV Drama)
  • David Freyne - Arthur Mackey (TV Drama)
  • Andrea Harkin - No Man’s Land (Feature Film)
  • Maurice O'Brien - This Is My Truth (Documentary)
  • Carmel Winters - Fly Up To The Moon (Animated Feature)
  • Louise Ni Fhiannachta – Skinfull (Feature Film)
  • Aisling Walsh - Dorothea Lange Project  (Feature Film)
  • Kevin O'Farrell   - Two Buses (Feature Film)
  • Tristan Heanu – Dust (Feature Film)
  • Claire Byrne – Wrapped (Feature Film)
  • Myrid Carter - No Place Like Home (Documentary)
  • Alice McDowell - Rainsong (Documentary)
  • Louise Lowe - Hentown (3 x 30' TV Drama)
  • Kitty Leong - What You Made Here (Feature Film)
  • Pat Comer – Whack (Feature Film)
  • Thomas Ryan - Fred & Ginger (Feature Film)
  • Bob Gallagher - The Song Collector (Feature Film)

Désirée Finnegan, Chief Executive of Screen Ireland, commented on the selections:

“Sincere congratulations to all the recipients of the Director’s Conceptual Development Fund. This fund was designed to recognise and support established and emerging directors in Ireland and their outstanding creative screen work. We’re looking forward to seeing the original and ambitious projects that will emerge from this initiative.”

Screen Ireland also noted that a 50/50 gender balance was achieved in the selection process, with 9 of the 17 projects helmed by female directors.

IFTA Creative Minds & Wellbeing Day: In Conversation with Deepak Chopra and Panel Discussion
Newport Beach Spotlight: Director Jeffrey Doyle discusses The Coco Show
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



onwin yeni giris canli bahis rulet siteleri casino siteleri yeni giris deneme bonusu medicalli.com wvupci.org Rulet Siteleri