6 December 2022 The Irish Film & Television Network
Three Irish named among the nominees for the 34th American Society of Cinematographers
29 Nov 2019 : Nathan Griffin
34th American Society of Cinematographers
The American Society of Cinematographers has revealed three Irish cinematographers amid its documentary and television nominees for the 34th annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards.

PJ Dillon ISC, John Conroy ISC, and Peter Robertson ISC will be in contention at the award ceremony, which will be presented on January 25th at the Ray Dolby Ballroom in Hollywood.

This marks the first nomination for Peter Robertson, while Conroy and Dillon have both previously received the distinguished nomination in 2015 and 2016, respectively.

Three Irish cinematographers being nominated in the same year, following the nominations for Robbie Ryan and Cathal Watters last year, is a unique achievement and is a testament to the standard of cinematography in our industry,” said Dillon when speaking with IFTN.

“I'd like to sincerely thank the ASC; I am truly honoured to receive another nomination,” continued Dillon, who is nominated in the category of Best Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television. “Recognition from peers is always the most meaningful and the ASC represents the gold standard of artistic and technical achievement in our craft. I'd also like to thank Starz, director Kari Skogland, and all of the cast and crew I was so fortunate to work with on the production.” 

Dillon, who is nominated for his work on The Rook (Ep - "Chapter One"), expressed his elation at the recognition of his two friends and compatriots, one of which (Conroy), is nominated in the same category. “I am especially delighted that the work of John Conroy and Peter Robertson, both good friends of mine, has also been recognised. All of the camera technicians, electricians, and grips that John, Peter and I work with and learn from every day should regard these nominations as international recognition of their hard work.”

Conroy, who picked up his second ASC nomination for AMC’s The Terror: Infamy (Ep - "A Sparrow in a Swallow’s Nest"), told IFTN; “I’m delighted to get a 2nd nomination as the first one was a dream come true, this is even better. I’m so happy that my friends PJ & Robbo are there too”.

First-time American Society of Cinematographers nominee Peter Robertson is nominated in the category of Best Episode of a Series for Commercial Television for his work on History’s Vikings (Ep - "Hell"). Speaking with IFTN, Robertson said; “I am really delighted to be nominated for cinematography on Vikings. The show was such a joy to work on. There was a really great collaboration between all departments especially camera/ lighting and art departments which contributed greatly to me getting nominated. After all the hard work it’s great to be recognised”.

On behalf of the three nominees, Dillon also highlighted his appreciation for the work of several Irish producers who have been influential in bringing international productions to Ireland and putting their faith in Irish crew to deliver these projects. I'd also like to thank producers Morgan O'Sullivan, James Flynn, Karen Richards, and Seamus McInerney gave John, Peter and I with the opportunity to work on major international productions, and trusted us to step up to the plate.”

Full list of nominees below:

Episode of a Series for Commercial Television

  • Dana Gonzales, ASC – Legion, “Chapter 20” (FX)
  • C. Kim Miles, CSC, MySC – Project Blue Book, “The Flatwoods Monster” (History)
  • Polly Morgan, ASC, BSC – Legion, “Chapter 23” (FX)
  • Peter Robertson, ISC – Vikings, “Hell” (History)
  • David Stockton, ASC – Gotham, “Ace Chemicals” (Fox)

Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television

  • John Conroy, ISC – The Terror: Infamy, “A Sparrow in a Swallow’s Nest” (AMC)
  • P.J. Dillon, ISC – The Rook, “Chapter 1” (Starz)
  • Chris Manley, ASC – Doom Patrol, pilot (DC Universe)
  • Martin Ruhe, ASC – Catch-22, “Episode 5” (Hulu)
  • Craig Wrobleski, CSC – The Twilight Zone, “Blurryman” (CBS All Access)


  • Fejmi Daut and Samir Ljuma – Honeyland
  • Nicholas de Pencier – Anthropocene: The Human Epoch
  • Evangelia Kranioti – Obscuro Barroco

Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television

  • David Luther – Das Boot, “Gegen die Zeit” (Episode 6) (Sky)
  • M. David Mullen, ASC – The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, “Simone” (Amazon)
  • Chris Seager, BSC – Carnival Row, “Grieve No More” (Amazon)
  • Brendan Steacy, CSC – Titans, “Dick Grayson” (DC Universe)
  • Colin Watkinson, ASC, BSC – The Handmaid’s Tale, “Night” (Hulu)

“Pigeon racers are old school, so they're all on Facebook. I can't even use the thing anymore, it's just literally all pigeons”; Gavin Fitzgerald discusses his fascinating and bizarre documentary, Million Dollar Pigeons
“We could really be a Poster Girl for Change”; Dr. Susan Liddy on her appointment as president of Women in Film and Television International
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



onwin yeni giris canli bahis rulet siteleri