6 December 2023 The Irish Film & Television Network
Winners announced as IndieCork Festival 2019 comes to a close
15 Oct 2019 : News Desk
IndieCork 2019
IndieCork Festival, the festival of independent film in Ireland, rounded off another successful year as it came to a close on Sunday night - having broken its box office and attendance record.

The Festival announced its 2019 award winners, which included Best Irish Short Film won by Starry Night directed by Emma Smith, Best Creative Cork Short Film won by Ignas Laugalis for Swansong and the IndieCork Music Award won by John Byrne.

A new Irish film – Dark Lies The Island – written by author Kevin Barry, directed by Ian Fitzgibbon, and starring Pat Shortt, Tommy Tiernan and Moe Dunford, Charlie Murphy and Peter Coonanhas is the festival’s Closing Night film screening at The Gate Cinema. A darkly comic story from the fertile imagination of Irish writer Kevin Barry, recently long listed for the Booker Prize, this is his first outing as a screenwriter.

Festival Co-Director Mick Hannigan said:

“The seventh edition of the festival has been a real break-through in all directions, attendance, box-office and support. We’re really heartened that the festival is going from strength to strength and connecting so well with audiences and also with filmmakers themselves. The role of the festival seems clearer than ever – we support emerging talent and filmmakers.”

IndieCork is pegged as Ireland’s largest festival for short films. Many filmmakers made their way to Cork for the festival to represent their films and participate in some of the industry training events including ‘The Indie Route’ workshop on alternative distribution supported by Screen Skills Ireland, and panels on Women Directors and Horror Directors.

IndieCork was notable for hosting the Irish premiere of several key international feature films– many of which reached IndieCork following their premieres at Cannes, Venice and Toronto Film festivals. This includes the French film Sibyl directed by Justine Triet, which closed the Cannes film festival and Polish feature Corpus Christi directed by Jan Komasa, recently screened at the Toronto International Film Festival.

Click here for more information about the IndieCork Festival.

Full list of Awards for IndieCork Festival 2019:

Best World Short Film

Winner: Sheep, Wolf and A Cup Of Tea by Marion Lacourt, France

At night, while family members indulge in curious rituals before sleeping, a child invokes a wolf from the bottom of a box. This director based her film on the strange light and the dreamy night recollections of her childhood. The imaginative and open script is perfectly complimented by multiple forms of animation that bring the screen to luminous life. The perfect match of sound design and music further strengthens this wonderful film.

Best ‘Creative Cork’ Short

Winner: Swansong, directed by Ignas Laugalis

This visually and aurally accomplished work heralds a striking new talent. One of the film’s achievements is that there is no hint of it being produced in a specific geographic location. Rather the film speaks the universal language of new cinema.

Best ‘Creative Cork’ Special Mention:

Winner: Wild Culture: The Travelling Playground, directed by Stephen O’Sullivan

Through his filmic research into the playfulness of ravens, the director introduces us to new possibilities in our relationship with the natural world.

Best Irish Short

Winner: Starry Night directed by Emma Smith

With a non-linear narrative, a spare script and a rich visual style, the film tells a heartbreakingly simple tale of deferred dreams. We look forward to seeing further work from this talented young director.

Best Irish Short Special Mention:

Goose & Gander, directed by Jamie Sykes

Through an assured visual style and appealing characters the director depicts the beautiful strangeness of the everyday.

‘Spirit Of IndieCork’ Award

To direct and deliver an uplifting feature film on meager resources is commendable. That she produced one of the most memorable screenings in IndieCork’s seven-year history is a great achievement for a first-time director and epitomises the spirit of the IndieCork festival. We have no hesitation in presenting this award to the director of The New Music, Chiara Viale.

Best Emerging Irish Female Director

Winner: Rachel Fitzgerald for Bubbles

The film’s ardent and mature voice, coupled with its striking animation and editing captured us completely.

Best Emerging Irish Female Director Special Mention:

Emma Smith for Starry Night

A thoughtful, non-clichéd story that showed the simple every-day impediments women face in achieving self-fulfillment.

Ronan Phelan Scriptwriting Award –

Winner: Tania Notaro for her script Boxed.

 A gripping tale about the trappings and dangers of Social Media and how it might affect all of our lives in the future.

Ó’Bhéal Poetry Film Award –

Winner: Virginia gave me Roses by Fiona Aryan

(from the poem by Lani O’Hanlon)

This piece depicts a soft-focused, memory-like family interaction that supports, compliments and, at the same time, adds weight to an original text that is both moving and strongly visual. This depiction transports the viewer into a dreamlike state where one is enveloped by the profound sense of love and safety which being in a close-knit family occasion provides.

IndieCork Music Award

Winner: John Byrne

His festival performance in ‘Angel,’ was a bold, witty and spirited reinterpretation of Scott Walker’s original compositions. This award is also made in recognition of John’s long and steadfast contribution to the musical life of Cork; as a performer, as a DJ and, through his role in the publication of rare recordings, as an archivist of the city’s intangible cultural heritage. 

IFTN Festive Q&A with director Luke McManus
Casting Directors share insights at Casting Conversations hosted by IFTA
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



canli bahis siteleri rulet siteleri bahis siteleri yeni giris casino siteleri deneme bonusu veren siteler bahis siteleri free spin veren siteler deneme bonusu veren slot siteleri