25 January 2021 The Irish Film & Television Network
Winners Announced for the Writers Guild of Ireland's 2019 Zebbie Awards
20 Jun 2019 : Nathan Griffin
WGI's Zebbie Awards
The 2019 Zebbie Awards winners were announced last night, Wednesday June 19th and saw the introduction of two new awards – Animation and Continuing Drama.

The ZeBBie Awards are annual awards created by the WGI — named in honour of O. Z. Whitehead — to acknowledge the best script(s) written by Irish playwrights and screenwriters during the previous year.

Writer/Director Carmel Winters picked up the award for 'Best Feature Film Script' for her work on Samson Films’ ‘Float like a Butterfly’. Others nominated in the category included Stuart Drennan’s Northern Irish drama ‘The Dig’ and ‘The Ranger’ (produced as ‘Black 47’) written by PJ Dillon, Pierce Ryan, and Eugune O’Brien.

Lisa McGee's hit Channel 4 comedy ‘Derry Girls’ picked up the award for 'Best Television Script'. Peter Foott’s BBC Three comedy ‘Young Offenders’ and Sharon Horgan’s latest series ‘Women On The Verge’ made up the rest of the category nominations.

Outgoing Director of Writers Guild of Ireland David Kavanagh was honoured with the WGI 2019 Service to Writers, which was presented by Thomas McLaughlin. Kavanagh will take up a post in Europe later this year.

The winner of this year's 'Best Short Film Script' went to Oonagh Kearney’s ‘Five Letters to the Stranger Who Will Dissect My Brain’. Other nominees in the category were Laoise Sexton’s ‘I Didn't.. I Wasn’t.. I Amn’t’ and Tom Speers ‘Boy Saint’.

‘Space Chickens in Space – Blibli-Sitting’ by Shane Perez picked the first ever ‘Best Animation Script’ award, in a category that included Emma Hogan’s ‘Peek Xoo – Cheeky Monkey’ and ‘Claude – Twinkle Toes Terry’ by Maria O’Loughlin.

The first award for ‘Best Continuing Drama’ went to Paul Walker’s ‘Red Rock Ep.187’. Gemma Breathnach’s ‘Ros na Rún Ep.54’ and Clare Dowling’s ‘Fair City Ep.59’ were also nominated in this category.

The 2019 ZeBBie Awards Ceremony took place on Wednesday, 19th June 2019 and were hosted by Senator David Norris.

IFTA-winning documentarian Feargal Ward talks with IFTN
The New Frontiers: Ireland and the (Film Studio) Space Race
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



bodrum escort bayan escort antalya gumbet escort