24 September 2019 The Irish Film & Television Network
Education / Training
Festivals / Markets
Locations Ireland
Post Production
Rep Bodies
Features & Interviews
Production News
Post Production News
VFX News
Animation News
Digital News
Festivals News
Training News
Cast News
Finance News
IFTA Film & Drama Awards
Galway Film Fleadh 2017
List Your Company
Daily News Bulletin
Site Map
The Favourite's Olivia Coleman Wins Best Actress at the 91st Academy Awards
25 Feb 2019 : Nathan Griffin
Olivia Coleman with her Academy Award for 'The Favourite'
Element Picturesí leading lady Olivia Colman picked up the Best Actress award for her portrayal of Queen Anne in Yorgos Lanthimosí period drama at the 91st Academy Awards on Sunday night.

This was the only award for the Irish co-production, which was nominated for 10 awards.  ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’ picked up four awards; the most individual awards of any production with Rami Malek presented the Best Actor accolade for his portrayal of Freddie Mercury in the Queen biopic.

Speaking about Olivia Coleman’s win, Ed Guiney and Andrew Lowe said:

“We are so delighted for Olivia, such a richly deserved award The love for the film from audiences and critics alike worldwide has been gratifying and we are indebted to Yorgos for making a film we can all be so proud of. Long live the Queen”

Peter Farrelly’s ‘Green Book’ picked up three awards including Best Picture, Best Original Screenplay and Best Supporting Actor for Mahershala Ali; the second of his career. Alfonso Cuaron and his Netflix produced Mexican drama, ‘Roma’ were also big winners on the night with Cuaron picking up Best Director and pitting Irishman Robbie Ryan to Best Cinematography, while the film received the award for Best Foreign Language Film.

Louise Bagnall and Nuria Gonzalez Blanco’s ‘Late Afternoon’ was nominated for the Best Animated Short award, which was picked up by Domee Shi’s ‘Bao’. The film, which is produced by Cartoon Saloon picked up the IFTA for Best Short Animation at the IFTA Film & Drama Awards in 2018.

Vincent Lambe and Darren Mahon’s Irish short film ‘Detainment’ was also nominated on the night in the Best Live Action Short category. The controversial film, which follows the story of two ten-year-old boys being detained by police under suspicion of abducting and murdering a toddler, missed out to Guy Nattiv’s ‘Skin’.

Full list of winners below:


Best supporting actress

Emma Stone (The Favourite)

Rachel Weisz (The Favourite)

Amy Adams (Vice)

Regina King (If Beale Street Could Talk) – WINNER

Marina De Tavira (Roma)


Best makeup and hair


Mary Queen of Scots



Best documentary

Free Solo – WINNER

Minding the Gap


Hale County This Morning, This Evening

Of Fathers and Sons


Best costume design

Black Panther (Ruth E Carter) – WINNER

The Favourite (Sandy Powell)

Mary Poppins Returns (Sandy Powell)

Mary Queen of Scots (Alexandra Byrne)

The Ballad of Buster Scruggs (Mary Zophres)


Best film editing

Bohemian Rhapsody (John Ottman) – WINNER

Vice (Hank Corwin)

BlacKkKlansman (Barry Alexander Brown)

The Favourite (Yorgos Mavropsaridis)

Green Book (Patrick J Don Vito)


Best production design

The Favourite (Fiona Crombie and Alice Felton)

First Man (Nathan Crowley and Kathy Lucas)

Roma (Eugenio Caballero and Barbara Enriquez)

Mary Poppins Returns (John Myhre and Gordon Sim)

Black Panther (Hannah Beachler and Jay Hart) – WINNER


Best cinematography

Roma (Alfonso Cuaron) – WINNER

Cold War (Lukasz Zal)

Never Look Away (Caleb Deschanel)

The Favourite (Robbie Ryan)

A Star Is Born (Matty Libatique)


Best sound editing

First Man

A Quiet Place

Bohemian Rhapsody – WINNER

Black Panther



Best sound mixing

A Star Is Born

Bohemian Rhapsody – WINNER

First Man


Black Panther


Best foreign language film

Roma (Mexico) – WINNER

Cold War (Poland)

Shoplifters (Japan)

Capernaum (Lebanon)

Never Look Away (Germany)


Best supporting actor

Mahershala Ali (Green Book) – WINNER

Richard E Grant (Can You Ever Forgive Me?)

Sam Elliott (A Star Is Born)

Adam Driver (BlacKkKlansman)

Sam Rockwell (Vice)


Best animated feature

Incredibles 2

Ralph Breaks the Internet

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse – WINNER

Isle of Dogs



Best live action short







Best animated short

Animal Behaviour


Late Afternoon

One Small Step



Best documentary short

Black Sheep

End Game


A Night at the Garden

Period. End of Sentence. – WINNER


Best visual effects

First Man – WINNER

Avengers: Infinity War

Solo: A Star Wars Story

Ready Player One

Christopher Robin


Best original screenplay

Green Book (Brian Hayes Currie, Peter Farrelly and Nick Vallelonga) – WINNER

The Favourite (Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara)

Roma (Alfonso Cuarón)

Vice (Adam McKay)

First Reformed (Paul Schrader)


Best adapted screenplay

If Beale Street Could Talk (Barry Jenkins)

A Star Is Born (Bradley Cooper, Will Fetters and Eric Roth)

Can You Ever Forgive Me? (Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty)

BlacKkKlansman (Spike Lee, David Rabinowitz, Charlie Wachtel and Kevin Willmott) – WINNER

The Ballad of Buster Scruggs (Joel Coen and Ethan Coen)


Best original score

If Beale Street Could Talk (Nicholas Britell)

Mary Poppins Returns (Marc Shaiman)

Isle of Dogs (Alexandre Desplat)

BlacKkKlansman (Terence Blanchard)

Black Panther (Ludwig Goransson) – WINNER


Best original song

Shallow (A Star Is Born) – WINNER

All the Stars (Black Panther)

I’ll Fight (RBG)

The Place Where Lost Things Go (Mary Poppins Returns)

When a Cowboy Trades his Spurs for Wings (The Ballad of Buster Scruggs)


Best actor

Rami Malek (Bohemian Rhapsody) – WINNER

Christian Bale (Vice)

Viggo Mortensen (Green Book)

Bradley Cooper (A Star Is Born)

Willem Dafoe (At Eternity’s Gate)


Best actress

Glenn Close (The Wife)

Lady Gaga (A Star Is Born)

Olivia Colman (The Favourite) – WINNER

Melissa McCarthy (Can You Ever Forgive Me?)

Yalitza Aparicio (Roma)


Best director

Alfonso Cuarón (Roma) – WINNER

Adam McKay (Vice)

Yorgos Lanthimos (The Favourite)

Spike Lee (BlacKkKlansman)

Pawel Pawlikowski (Cold War)


Best picture

Black Panther


Bohemian Rhapsody

The Favourite

Green Book – WINNER


A Star is Born


Screen Ireland launches Spotlight Scheme for Emerging Writers in Partnership with Screen Skills Ireland
New female focused collaboration initiative X-Pollinator Launched
Telegael wins Animation Investor Award at 2019 European Cartoon Forum
First-look trailer released for Northern Irish drama Ordinary Love

IFTN talks with Maddie Rice & Kate Kennedy, writers of new RT… Comedy Pilot 'Handy'
Peaky Blinders director Anthony Byrne talks with IFTN ahead of the Season 5 Finale
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

Irish Supernatural Comedy 'Extra Ordinary' Releases in Over 100 Irish Cinemas this Friday the 13th
13 Sep 2019 
Irish Hopefuls Named Amongst 2019 Emmy Award Nominations as Game of Thrones Breaks Records
17 Jul 2019 
#IFTNJobs: Festival Programmer Vacancy at Kerry International Film Festival
02 May 2019 
Daytime Emmy Nominated Sound Editors Steve Maher & Peter Blayney Talk with IFTN
16 Apr 2019 
Telegael wins Animation Investor Award at 2019 European Cartoon Forum
First-look trailer released for Northern Irish drama Ordinary Love
Eddie Doyle Appointed BBC Northern Ireland's Head of Content Commissioning
Chris O'Dowd picks up Creative Arts Emmy Award for State of the Union
Find us on Facebook
Follow IFTN on Twitter
E-Newsletter Subscribe
Subscribe to RSS Feed

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter