15 August 2020 The Irish Film & Television Network
Poolbeg Productions Returns To RTÉ with New Four-Part Series 'Back To The Joy'
16 Apr 2018 : Nathan Griffin
Twenty years on from the groundbreaking series ‘The Joy’, Poolbeg Productions return to RTÉ with the new follow up series ‘Back to the Joy’.

The original series filmed in 1998, broke new ground on Irish television as it became the first documentary to be granted access for cameras to film inside an Irish prison.

As a result, the series generated huge audiences and attention, with articles in a number of key Irish newspapers including the Irish Times, discussions in Dáil Éireann, and the series becoming the first IPU commission to reach number one in the ratings.

Now, in 2018, with ‘Back To The Joy’, IFTA-nominated producer/director, Donald Taylor Black, has returned to see what has changed in Mountjoy and what has happened to some of the participants (both inmates and staff) from the original series.

The original crew was Sean Corcoran (camera), Maurice Healy (editor), Karl Merren (sound recordist), Veronica Jane O'Mara (associate producer), and James Hickey (executive producer) - then a director of Poolbeg.

The 1998 crew was IFTA nominee, Richard Kendrick (camera); IFTA winner, Mick Mahon (editor); Mick Cassidy (sound recordist), and Hannah Smolensky (production manager).

Post-production took place in Outer Limits, where it was graded by Gary Curran, onlined by Michael Higgins, with a sound mix by IFTA winner, Michelle Cunniffe.

The show debuts on RTÉ One, Monday 16th April at 9.35pm.

Barry Ward on Acting
Joe Murtagh on Writing
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter