12 August 2022 The Irish Film & Television Network
Strong Irish Contingent Nominated for Critics' Choice Awards
08 Dec 2017 : Nathan Griffin
The Critics' Choice Awards have announced a strong contingent of Irish nominees for this year’s award show. Among the Irish to be nominated are actress Saoirse Ronan, Caitriona Balfe, writer and director Martin McDonagh, and director Nora Twomey.

‘The Breadwinner’ continues its successful awards season as it picked up another nomination for Best Animated Feature. Cartoon Saloon and director Nora Twomey are hoping to earn the studio a third Oscar nomination following previous successes, ‘The Secret of Kells’ and ‘Song of the Sea’. Having previously won at the LA Film Critics' Association Awards, the film has also just received 10 Annie Award nominations including Best Independent Animated Feature and Best Director.

Saoirse Ronan is also in contention to receive her third Academy Award nomination following yet another nomination for Best Actress this year for her performance in Greta Gerwig’s ‘Lady Bird’, and is also nominated in the Best Actress in a Comedy category. Ronan has already picked up the award for Best Actress at this year’s Gotham Independent Film Awards. 

Fellow Irish Actress Caitriona Balfe represents the Irish Television nominations for her role in ‘Outlander’. Balfe is nominated in the Lead Actress in Drama category alongside the likes of Robin Wright (‘House of Cards’), Claire Foy (‘The Crown’) and Elisabeth Moss (‘The Handmaid’s Tale’).

Academy Award winning writer, Martin McDonagh leads the nominations however, having picked up three nominations at this year’s Critics' Choice Awards. McDonagh received nominations for Best Director, Best Screenplay and Best Picture for his highly rated, ‘Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri’. McDonagh received the coveted People’s Choice Award at the Toronto Film Festival earlier this year, making it a frontrunner for Oscar nominations.

Check out list of Irish Nominated Categories from Critics' Choice Awards below:

Best Picture

The Big Sick

Call Me by Your Name

Darkest Hour


The Florida Project

Get Out

Lady Bird

The Post

The Shape of Water

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Actress

Jessica Chastain – Molly’s Game

Sally Hawkins – The Shape of Water

Frances McDormand – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Margot Robbie – I, Tonya

Saoirse Ronan – Lady Bird

Meryl Streep – The Post

Best Director

Guillermo del Toro – The Shape of Water

Greta Gerwig – Lady Bird

Martin McDonagh – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Christopher Nolan – Dunkirk

Luca Guadagnino – Call Me By Your Name

Jordan Peele – Get Out

Steven Spielberg – The Post

Best Original Screenplay

Guillermo del Toro and Vanessa Taylor – The Shape of Water

Greta Gerwig – Lady Bird

Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani – The Big Sick

Liz Hannah and Josh Singer – The Post

Martin McDonagh – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Jordan Peele – Get Out

Best Animated Feature

The Breadwinner


Despicable Me 3

The LEGO Batman Movie

Loving Vincent

Best Actress in a Comedy

Tiffany Haddish – Girls Trip

Zoe Kazan – The Big Sick

Margot Robbie – I, Tonya

Saoirse Ronan – Lady Bird

Emma Stone – Battle of the Sexes

Best Actress in a Drama Series

Caitriona Balfe – Outlander (Starz)

Christine Baranski – The Good Fight (CBS All Access)

Claire Foy – The Crown (Netflix)

Tatiana Maslany – Orphan Black (BBC America)

Elisabeth Moss – The Handmaid’s Tale (Hulu)

Robin Wright – House of Cards (Netflix)

The Critics' Choice Awards take place on January 11th, 2018.

Tom Collins: “For me it's all about the work, which is about creating a reflection of a modern Irish cultural identity that can travel beyond borders, history and these shores.”
Over €4.6m allocated by Creative Europe to Irish screen industry in 2021
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



bodrum escort bayan escort antalya gumbet escort