17 September 2019 The Irish Film & Television Network
Education / Training
Festivals / Markets
Locations Ireland
Post Production
Rep Bodies
Features & Interviews
Production News
Post Production News
VFX News
Animation News
Digital News
Festivals News
Training News
Cast News
Finance News
IFTA Film & Drama Awards
Galway Film Fleadh 2017
List Your Company
Daily News Bulletin
Site Map
Horrible Histories Episode Directed by Simon Gibney Wins International Emmy® Kids Award
05 Apr 2017 : Laura Brennan
Directed by Irish Director Simon Gibney (Doctors, Spy II, Roy,The Podge and Rodge Show), winner of the Best Kids Factual went to the Horrible Histories episode entitled ‘Crooked King John and Magna’.

The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced the winners of the 5th International Emmy® Kids Awards at a ceremony held on Tuesday evening 4th April at the Martinez Hotel, during MIPTV, in Cannes.

The winning Horrible Histories episode a special on Magna Carta starred Ben Miller and was produced by Tom Miller and Richard Bradley of Lion Television in the UK with Simon Gibney and Ian Curtis directing.

In the below clip posted by The International Emmy® twitter page you can watch the acceptance speech from  Horrible Histories producers Tom Miller and Richard Bradley. Accepting the award Tom Miller said: “It’s a real honour to get this. There are so many people to thank. It’s a huge team and it’s a real team effort like no other. Firstly we need to thank Terry Deary [Horrible Histories Author] and Martin Brown [Horrible Histories Illustrator] who write the books on which the series is made. Scholastic who publish them, CBBC Melissa Harding and Cheryl Taylor who’ve backed it, Lion TV who make it, our brilliant director Simon Gibney  and Ian Curtis who couldn’t be here tonight unfortunately and a  huge, huge team of wonderful people  from researchers, historians, writers, musicians, animators, puppeteers, editors, VFX.”  

Horrible Histories is a British children's sketch comedy television series. Each episode takes on a different historical period, delivering factual content through entertaining skits, television parodies, and catchy songs.

Greg Jenner one of the historians who works on Horrible Histories posted this message on his twitter account.

The seven overall winning programs at the awards hailed from Australia, Denmark, The United Kingdom and The Netherlands.

"Nothing is more vital on television than the programming kids watch every day, and the Academy is proud that the Emmy is the preeminent awards platform for kids programming," said International Academy President, Bruce L. Paisner. "We congratulate all the winners for their outstanding achievements and for setting the high-quality standard we all expect for our kids."

The Emmy® statues were presented on stage by an international cast of TV and digital personalities and character mascots including: American Actress & YouTuber Jenn McAllister (jennxpenn); Quebec TV Star/Producer Marc Labrèche (Le Coeur a Ses Raisons; Le Cri du Rhinoceros); German pre-school character Die Maus from WDR's The Program with The Mouse co-presenting with actress and YouTuber Joyce Ilg from WDR's kid's series Arman's Secret and Miss Supranational 2016 Srinidhi Shetty from India and British Comedian Paul Taylor (#Franglais).

Over 250 international industry executives attended the event, held at the Martinez Hotel, in Cannes, France during MIPTV.

The International Emmy® Kids Awards presenting partners are: Shaw Rocket Fund, WDR mediagroup, TV Kids, Ernst & Young and Junior@MIPTV.

About The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is a membership based organization comprised of leading media and entertainment figures from over 60 countries and 500 companies from all sectors of television including internet, mobile and technology. The Academy's yearly schedule of events includes the prestigious International Emmy® Awards held in New York, The International Emmy® Kids Awards at MIPTV and a series of industry events such as Academy Day, The International Emmy® World Television Festival and Panels on substantive industry topics. The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences recognizes excellence in television produced outside of the United States, as well as US Primetime programs produced in languages other than English, with the prestigious Emmy® Award. Currently celebrating programming across varied areas including: Arts Programming, Current Affairs, Comedy, Documentary, Drama Series, News, Non-Scripted Entertainment, Telenovela, and TV Movie/Mini-Series, it also recognizes excellence in Performances, Kids programming and Digital. For more information, go to the iemmys website


MIPTV is the world's biggest TV and digital content market powering the unlimited potential of extraordinary stories. In April, professionals from across the TV and digital entertainment ecosystem gather in Cannes, France, to forge partnerships, seal distribution deals, network with their international executive peers, and attend high-level conferences and keynotes. MIPTV is also a key venue for early-stage development and financing deals, content acquisitions and programme sales. And with the MIP Digital Fronts - the premier global digital content market - empowering the new digital content era and bringing together the new online video ecosystem with the TV industry, MIPTV anticipates and shapes the future of entertainment. For more information please visit the MIPTV website. 


Winners of the 5th International Emmy® Kids Awards:

Kids: Factual

Horrible Histories

Lion Television (UK)

Kids: Preschool

Hey Duggee

Studio AKA (UK)

Kids: Animation

Shaun the Sheep

Aardman Animations (UK)

Kids: Non-Scripted Entertainment

Ultras Sorte Kageshow (Baking in the Dark)

Danish Broadcasting Corporation (Denmark

Kids: Series

Kasper en de Kerstengelen (Casper and the Christmas Angels)

NL Film TV  & Avrotros (Netherlands)

Kids: Digital


Ludo Studio / ABC3 Australia / Screen Australia / Screen Queensland (Australia)

Kids: TV Movie/Mini-Series

Peter & Wendy: Based on the Novel Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie

Headline Pictures & Juliette Films (UK). 

Chris O'Dowd picks up Creative Arts Emmy Award for State of the Union
Composer Sheridan Tongue Discusses Scoring BBC's New Documentary Series on the Troubles
Submissions Now Open for the 4th iffy Short Film Festival
Irish Supernatural Comedy 'Extra Ordinary' Releases in Over 100 Irish Cinemas this Friday the 13th

Composer Sheridan Tongue Discusses Scoring BBC's New Documentary Series on the Troubles
IFTN talks with Dale Longmore & John Quinn, Writers of new RTÉ Comedy Pilot 'Bump'
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

Chris O'Dowd picks up Creative Arts Emmy Award for State of the Union
16 Sep 2019 
'Detainment' Star Ely Solan Wins Young Artist Award
09 Sep 2019 
IFTN Talks with Charleigh Bailey, Writer and Star of new RTÉ Comedy Pilot 'Headcases'
06 Sep 2019 
John Kelleher announced as Festival Director for the 2020 Fastnet Film Festival
29 Aug 2019 
Chris O'Dowd picks up Creative Arts Emmy Award for State of the Union
Mark O’Rowe discusses new Sky series 'Temple', which airs this Friday, 13th September on Sky One
TG4 Launches New Autumn Schedule in Cork
New Comedy Series Headcases to debut on RTE One this Sunday, 8th September at 22:30pm
Find us on Facebook
Follow IFTN on Twitter
E-Newsletter Subscribe
Subscribe to RSS Feed

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter