4 June 2020 The Irish Film & Television Network
Features & Interviews
Production News
Post Production News
VFX News
Animation News
Digital News
Festivals News
Training News
Cast News
Finance News
IFTA Film & Drama Awards
Galway Film Fleadh 2017
List Your Company
Daily News Bulletin
Site Map
Irish Talent features in BIFA 2016 Nominations
01 Nov 2016 : Katie McNeice
Cinematographer Robbie Ryan is credited on both ‘I, Daniel Blake’ (Ken Loach) and ‘American Honey’ (Andrea Arnold), which boast seven and six respective nominations at The British Independent Film Awards, which take place Sunday December 4th.

The two projects share nominations for Best Actress and Best Actor, with Sasha Lane (Hunting Lila) and Shia LeBeouf (Transformers) for ‘American Honey’ and Hayley Squires (A Royal Night Out) and Dave Johns (Dogtown) for ‘I Daniel Blake’.

Both projects are nominated for Best Screenplay, Best Director and Best British Independent Film. Squires and Johns also feature in the Most Promising Newcomer, while Robbie Ryan also boasts his own nomination for Outstanding Achievement in Craft specifically for ‘American Honey.’

Michael Fassbender (The Light Between Oceans) is nominated for his leading role in ‘Trespass Against Us’, directed by Adam Smith, and shares his category with Max Records, who is nominated for his performance in Billy O’Briens’ ‘I Am Not a Serial Killer’.

O’Brien co-wrote the screenplay for this project with Christopher Hyde (The House in Spain) based on the novel from Dan Wells and also enjoys a nomination for Best Screenplay. Ryan is also the cinematographer behind this project, which additionally sees Christopher Lloyd (Back to the Future) nominated for Best Supporting Actor.

Jamie Dornan (The Siege of Jadotville) is also nominated for Best Supporting Actor for his role in ‘Anthropoid’, the WWII thriller in which Cillian Murphy (Inception) also stars. Murphy is also known for his leading role in Ben Wheatley’s ‘Free Fire’, which is featured both in Best Director and Outstanding Achievement in Craft (Shaheen Baig).

The recipient of The Richard Harris Award, which recognises outstanding contribution to British film by an actor will be announced this month, with previous winners including Daniel Day-Lewis (My Left Foot).

Visit BIFA Online for the full list of Nominees

IFTA Screen Discussions continues with Arracht and Rialto this week
Aisling Bea named among the Breakthrough Talent; BAFTA TV Awards Nominations announced
Galway Film Centre announces Selections for Script Mentorship Scheme
Submissions open for digital edition of Galway Film Fleadh Pitching Competition

Dead Still writer and creator John Morton talks with IFTN
Online Exclusive: Galway Film Fleadh moves 32nd edition online
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

Stephen Murphy inducted into the British Society of Cinematographers
07 Jan 2020 
Extra Ordinary wins Best Irish Film at Dublin Film Critics' Circle awards 2019
18 Dec 2019 
The Favourite wins big at the 32nd European Film Awards
09 Dec 2019 
Three Irish named among the nominees for the 34th American Society of Cinematographers
29 Nov 2019 
Aisling Bea named among the Breakthrough Talent; BAFTA TV Awards Nominations announced
Submissions open for digital edition of Galway Film Fleadh Pitching Competition
Creative Europe - Single Project Development Spotlight: Planet Korda Pictures
Virgin Media and Sky launch support funds to support smaller Irish businesses
Irish Production Companies
Listings for Irish film & television production companies
What's In Production?
The latest info on projects filming in Ireland
Latest Industry Jobs
Job listings for Irish film & television crew

Find us on Facebook
Follow IFTN on Twitter
E-Newsletter Subscribe
Subscribe to RSS Feed

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter