21 September 2019 The Irish Film & Television Network
Education / Training
Festivals / Markets
Locations Ireland
Post Production
Rep Bodies
Features & Interviews
Production News
Post Production News
VFX News
Animation News
Digital News
Festivals News
Training News
Cast News
Finance News
IFTA Film & Drama Awards
Galway Film Fleadh 2017
List Your Company
Daily News Bulletin
Site Map
Awards for ‘Song of the Sea’ and ‘The Lobster’ at the European Film Awards
14 Dec 2015 : Seán Brosnan
Two awards for 'The Lobster' and 'Song of the Sea' wins Best European Animated Feature
Irish films ‘Song of the Sea’ and ‘The Lobster’ both scooped awards at the 2015 European Film Awards in Berlin on Saturday, December 12th.

The IFTA Award winning and Oscar nominated ‘Song of the Sea’ won Best European Animated Feature while ‘The Lobster’ (Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthymis Filippou) won Best Screenplay (Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthymis Filippou), as well as the previously announced Best European Costume Designer Award for Sarah Blenkinsop.

The European Film Awards are voted on by the more than 3,000 members of the European Film Academy which consists of filmmakers from across Europe.

Directed by Tomm Moore and written by Will Collins, ‘Song of the Sea’ tells the story of Ben and his little sister Saoirse - the last Seal-child - who embark on a fantastic journey across a fading world of ancient legend and magic in an attempt to return to their home by the sea. The film takes inspiration from the mythological Selkies of Irish folklore, who live as seals in the sea but become humans on land.

‘Song of the Sea's’ voice cast features Brendan Gleeson, Fionnula Flanagan and David Rawle. Joining them are singer/songwriter Lisa Hannigan and actor/comedians Pat Shortt and Jon Kenny. Music is by composer Bruno Coulais and Irish band Kíla.

The film has had a very successful awards run over the past year which has included Oscar and Cesar nominations, seven Annie Award nominations and IFTA Award for Best Film, the first time an animated film has won the award.

Speaking to IFTN after the awards win, director Tomm Moore said: "The EFA win was a fantastic surprise, we were honoured just to be nominated along side the fantastic Shaun the Sheep and Adama. It's a special honour to be recognised by the European academy since I believe this film could not have been made any where else , it's a uniquely Irish story but to tell it took the combined efforts of five co-producers across Europe. It's a testament to the skill and commitment of those teams in Ireland, Belgium, France, Denmark and Luxembourg that it is being recognised with this amazing win at the EFAs."

A surreal, romantic drama and winner of the Jury Prize at the 2015 Cannes Film Festival, ‘The Lobster’ stars Colin Farrell and Rachel Weisz with a supporting cast including Léa Seydoux, Ben Whishaw, John C.Reilly, Olivia Colman and Ashley Jensen.

Shot at Parknasilla in Co. Kerry in Spring 2014, ‘The Lobster’ is written by Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthimis Filippou, directed by Lanthimos and produced by Ed Guiney, Lee Magiday, Ceci Dempsey and Yorgos Lanthimos. Executive Producers are Andrew Lowe, Tessa Ross and Sam Lavender with Isabel Davis as the lead executive for the BFI Film Fund. The film was developed by Element and Irish finance for the film came from the Irish Film Board with Rory Gilmartin as the lead executive for the IFB.

IFTN talks with Maddie Rice & Kate Kennedy, writers of new RTÉ Comedy Pilot 'Handy'
Peaky Blinders director Anthony Byrne talks with IFTN ahead of the Season 5 Finale
Finné Series 2 returns for six weeks as part of TG4's Wednesday Documentary Season
First-Look Trailer Releases for ‘The Rhythm Section’

IFTN talks with Maddie Rice & Kate Kennedy, writers of new RTÉ Comedy Pilot 'Handy'
Peaky Blinders director Anthony Byrne talks with IFTN ahead of the Season 5 Finale
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

Macalla Teo's Adventure Time as Gaeilge starting September 17th on TG4
12 Sep 2019 
Programme Announced for the Inaugural China Ireland International Film Festival
12 Jun 2019 
Deadline Approaching for Galway Film Fleadh Pitching Competition Applications
04 Jun 2019 
Cartoon Saloon Launches Subsidiary Rights Division Ahead of Las Vegas Licensing Expo 2019
31 May 2019 

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter