23 September 2019 The Irish Film & Television Network
Education / Training
Festivals / Markets
Locations Ireland
Post Production
Rep Bodies
Features & Interviews
Production News
Post Production News
VFX News
Animation News
Digital News
Festivals News
Training News
Cast News
Finance News
IFTA Film & Drama Awards
Galway Film Fleadh 2017
List Your Company
Daily News Bulletin
Site Map
‘The Lobster’ wins Jury Prize at Cannes
25 May 2015 : Seán Brosnan
‘The Lobster’ will be released to Irish cinemas later this year
Irish co-production ‘The Lobster’ has picked up the Jury Prize at the closing ceremony of the 68th Cannes Film Festival.

Yorgos Lanthimos’ ‘The Lobster’ marks Element Pictures sixth film in official selection at Cannes in recent years and its third win with Ken Loach’s ‘The Wind That Shakes The Barley’ taking home the Palme d’Or in 2006 and Lenny Abrahamson’s ‘Garage’ winning the CICAE Prize at Directors’ Fortnight in 2007.

Speaking from Cannes, Element Pictures Producer Ed Guiney commented: "It's a complete dream to get into the main competition at Cannes but then to win this amazing award is a huge and brilliant accolade for the film, for Yorgos and for our brilliant cast and crew."

Featuring an all-star cast including Colin Farrell, Rachel Weisz, Léa Seydoux, John C Reilly, Ben Whishaw, Olivia Colman and Michael Smiley, ‘The Lobster’ is a blackly funny love story set in a near future where finding love is a matter of life or death. Irish Audiences will have the chance to see ‘The Lobster’ when it goes on release in the Autumn through Element Pictures Distribution.

Element Pictures also took home a total of four awards from the IFTA Film & Drama Awards including Best Director for Lenny Abrahamson's ‘Frank’ with Domhnall Gleeson taking home the award for Best supporting actor also for ‘Frank’ where he plays a wannabe musician who quickly finds out he’s bitten off more than he can chew when he’s joins a band of eccentrics. James Mather picked up the best cinematography award for ‘Frank’ with Aiden Gillen scooping the award for actor in lead role in drama for ‘Charlie’.

In a joint comment, Element Pictures Producers Ed Guiney & Andrew Lowe commented: “These awards are a wonderful testament to all the brilliant film makers, cast and crew we have worked with over the last year or so. We are very proud and feel very lucky to have had the chance to collaborate with them all.”

Telegael wins Animation Investor Award at 2019 European Cartoon Forum
First-look trailer released for Northern Irish drama Ordinary Love
Gerard Mannix Flynn's feature documentary Land Without God releases in cinemas October 18
IFTN talks with Maddie Rice & Kate Kennedy, writers of new RTÉ Comedy Pilot 'Handy'

IFTN talks with Maddie Rice & Kate Kennedy, writers of new RTÉ Comedy Pilot 'Handy'
Peaky Blinders director Anthony Byrne talks with IFTN ahead of the Season 5 Finale
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

Colin Farrell Launches New Production Company - Chapel Place Productions
28 Aug 2019 
Filming Gets Underway in Dublin on New Irish-American Romantic-Drama
31 May 2019 
Principal Photography Commences on Element Pictures TV Adaption of 'Normal People' for BBC Three and Hulu
30 May 2019 
Colin Farrell Joins Cast of Andrew Haigh's BBC Thriller 'The North Water'
20 Feb 2019 

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter