7 June 2020 The Irish Film & Television Network
Features & Interviews
Production News
Post Production News
VFX News
Animation News
Digital News
Festivals News
Training News
Cast News
Finance News
IFTA Film & Drama Awards
Galway Film Fleadh 2017
List Your Company
Daily News Bulletin
Site Map
'The Crush' & 'Shoe' Advance in Short Oscar Race
01 Dec 2010 :
Irish short films ‘The Crush’, from director Michael Creagh, and ‘Shoe’, from director Nick Kelly, have been announced among the 10 live action short films advancing in the voting process for the 83rd Academy Awards®.

Seventy-six short films from across the globe had originally qualified in the category and the selected ten will now be viewed by the Short Film and Feature Animation Branch Members of the US Academy who will then shortlist three to five nominees for the prestigious 2011 Oscars.

‘The Crush’ is written and directed by Michael Creagh and produced by the ‘Hole In The Wall Gang's Damon Quinn at Purdy Pictures, The story sees an eight year old schoolboy (played by newcomer Oran Creagh) fall in love with his teacher, Miss Purdy. One day he gives her a toy ring to show his affection. But heartbreak awaits when he bumps into Miss Purdy and her boyfriend having just bought a very real engagement ring. Devastated and spurned, Ardal challenges Miss Purdy’s fiancé to a duel – to the death! Other cast includes Olga Wehrly (Rásaí na Gaillimhe), Rory Keenan (The Guard), and Neili Conroy (Kisses). DOP was Jim Creagh (Last Man Hanging) and editor was Ciara Brophy (The Widow).

‘Shoe’ is an IFB funded short film from director Nick Kelly and producer Seamus Byrne of Zanita Films. The darkly comic film tells the story of Vince who is about to kill himself - but a crazy beggar keeps killing the mood! The short stars Peter Coonan and Pat Kinevane (King Arthur) and was filmed on location in Kilorglin during July 2010, DOP was David Grennan (Eamon) and editor was IFTA winner Mairead McIvor (Savage).

Previously, Irish short films have fared well in the US Academy Awards. Martin McDonagh’s ‘Six Shooter’ picked up the top prize in 2006, with Steph Green’s ‘New Boy’ and Juanita Wilson’s ‘The Door’ receiving nominations in 2009 and 2010 respectively.

The 83rd Academy Awards nominations will be announced live on 25 January 2011 with the winners announced on Sunday, February 27th.

More at www.oscars.org

Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

IFTA Launches IFTA Screen Discussions with We Ourselves
28 May 2020 
Frank Marshall boards Mixed Bag Media's Irish stowaway adventure film Don’t Go Far
26 May 2020 
John Wallace selected as EFP's Irish ‘Producer on the Move’ for first digital edition of the programme
06 May 2020 
Foyle Film Festival's Light In Motion competition opens applications
06 Apr 2020 
Upcoming Festivals
Key dates & deadlines in the Events Diary
Distribution In Ireland
Irish cinema & DVD distribution
Training in Ireland
The latest on Irish film / TV industry training

Find us on Facebook
Follow IFTN on Twitter
E-Newsletter Subscribe
Subscribe to RSS Feed

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter