2 March 2024 The Irish Film & Television Network
Oireachtas Media Awards Winners Announced
26 May 2010 :
Micheál de Mordha, Oireachtas President, Gary Desmond,
CEO Gala, Ciarán Ó Cofaigh Producer, Na Cloigne and Liam
Ó Maolaodha, Oireachtas Director
The Oireachtas Media Awards, hosted by RTÉ’s Aengus Mac Grianna, were held this week in Dublin’s Framleigh House and saw the bestowal of awards on Irish media bodies who are seen to promote the Irish language, amongst them Irish newspaper Foinse, TV series ‘Na Cloigne’ and presenter Daithi O’Sé who was dubbed Gala Gael Star of the Year at the ceremony.

Organised by Oireachtas na Gaeilge, the Oireachtas Media Awards look to celebrate the TV and Radio presenters, actors, journalists and programme makers who have excelled in their contribution to Irish language media in the past year.

The year’s event saw the supernatural thriller, ‘Na Cloigne’ (The Heads), directed by Robert Quinn (Seacht) and produced by Ciarán Ó Cofaigh (An Teanga) for ROSG, win the award for Television Drama of the Year while Seó Spóirt, presented by former Kerry football captain, Dara Ó Cinnéide, won Television Programme of the Year.

‘Na Cloigne’ also won in the Actor of the Year Category with Darach Ó Dubháin scooping the award for his portrayal of the character Seán Ó Dónaill whilst TG4 news anchor, Eimear Ní Chonaola was named Television Personality of the Year. Rónán Mac Aodha Bhuí from RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta won two awards - Radio Programme of the Year with ‘Rónan Beo ag 3’ and he was named Radio Personality of the Year.

Breandán Delap from Beo! Won in the category of Journalist of the Year while Alan Titley won Columnist of the Year for his contributions to the Irish Times. The ceremony’s Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to the Foinse newspaper team (1996-2009).

New Rose of Tralee presenter, Daithi O’Sé walked away on the evening with the title of Gala Gael Star of the Year, which came as a result of a public vote. "We’re delighted with this year’s awards and the introduction of the Gala Gael Star of the Year award,” said Liam Ó Maolaodha, Director of Oireachtas na Gaeilge. "There’s an excellent synergy between Gala, which is proud of its culture and heritage, and Oireachtas na Gaeilge, who have been promoting the traditional arts since 1897. It’s a partnership which I hope will continue into the future. I would also like to congratulate Dáithí on his win, and all of our award winners, who received recognition for their work in the Irish language by their peers,” he finished.

Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter




canli bahis siteleri rulet siteleri bahis siteleri yeni giris casino siteleri deneme bonusu veren siteler bahis siteleri free spin veren siteler deneme bonusu veren slot siteleri