7 December 2022 The Irish Film & Television Network
Double Win for ‘The Sound of People’
23 Jun 2008 :
The Sound of People
Filmbase / RTÉ short ‘The Sound of People’, written and directed by Simon Fitzmaurice, has scooped prizes at two European festivals - the Special Jury Prize at the 3rd Festival Opalciné, Paris (6th -8th June 2008) and the Special Jury Prize at the 36th Huesca Film Festival, Spain (5th – 14th June 2008).

The Festival Opalciné, which screens English and French language shorts, featured a jury of French writers, directors and actors, including ‘Amelie’ star Dominic Pinon. ‘The Sound of People’ was one of thirty shorts to screen in the International Short Film strand at the Huesca Film Festival, which showcased a range of international features, shorts and documentaries.

The seven minute short, which won the Jameson Best Short Film Award at the 2008 Belfast Film Festival, recently screened at the Brooklyn Academy of Music & Film Sundance Programme, New York and had a nationwide Irish cinema release with feature film 'Charlie Bartlett.'

The film, produced by Noreen Donohoe, stars IFTA-nominated actor Martin McCann (Closing the Ring, My Boy Jack), Kevin O'Dwyer (Aifric, An Creatur), Jayne Stynes (Paddywhackery), Seamus Hanly, Aidan Turner, Conrad Kemp, Eimear O'Grady and Muirdeach Bradley.

Shot on location in Dublin, Bray and Ardmore Studios by DOP Ivan McCullough; the film features music by Stephen McKeon; sound design by Lar Scally and sound mix by Ardmore Sound. Editing was completed by Simon Fitzmaurice and Lawrence Fee at Yard Media. The film received print support from the Irish Film Board.

Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



onwin yeni giris canli bahis rulet siteleri