29 March 2023 The Irish Film & Television Network
More Irish Success at Celtic Media Fest
21 Apr 2008 :
At Home With the Clearys
Irish productions swept the board at the Celtic Media Festival Awards closing ceremony, with Alison Millar’s ‘At Home With the Clearys’, Tom Collins ‘Kings’ and Mint Productions ‘Get Collins’ among the winners at the festivals gala dinner in the Radisson Hotel, Galway on Friday 18th April.

Alison Millar scooped the Frank Copplestown First Time Director Award for her IFTA-winning documentary ‘At Home with the Clearys’. The award, presented to the director of a first television programme or film, came with a cash prize of £1,000.

Mint Productions IFTA-nominated ‘Get Collins’, produced by Ailbhe Maher and directed by Steve Carson, received the Jury Prize which is awarded by an international jury for quality of production, direction, technical or craft excellence.

Tom Collin’s IFTA-winning feature ‘Kings’, produced by Jackie Larkin, received the festival’s Spirit of the Festival Gold Torc award. The prestigious torc is presented to a film or television programme wholly or substantially in a Celtic Language.

Another winner on the night was RTÉ Radio One, which was named Radio Station of the Year. Winners were presented their awards at a ceremony hosted by RTÉ's Mary Kennedy and TG4's Daithi O Se.

The Celtic Media Festival, now in its 29th year, celebrates excellence in broadcasting and film talent throughout the Celtic countries Ireland, Scotland, Northern Ireland, Cornwall, Wales and Brittany.

Friday night’s award ceremony was attended by over 400 delegates from the world of broadcasting including BBC Panorama journalist John Sweeney; Neil Mossey, writer of BEBO hit series ‘Kate Modern’; Director General of RTÉ Cathal Goan and TG4’s Padhraic O Ciardha and Leas Cheannasai.

The Celtic Media Festival moves to Wales next year for its 30th Anniversary Celebrations.

Award winners of the final night of the festival were:

Frank Copplestown Award for First Time Director:
Alison Millar for ‘At Home with the Clearys’

Radio Station of the Year:
RTE Radio 1 was named as Radio Station of the Year

Jury Prize:
‘Get Collins’ Mint/RTE, Producer: Ailbhe Maher Director: Steve Carson

Spirit of the Festival Gold Torc award:
‘Kings’ De Facto Films, Producer: Jackie Larkin, Director: Tom Collins

“I think the reality of the situation is a terrifying concept in itself;” Actor Niamh Algar on new ITV drama Malpractice
“If you don't have your stories and your songs, you're doomed as a people;” Showrunner Declan de Barra discusses The Witcher: Blood Origin
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



onwin yeni giris canli bahis rulet siteleri