20 September 2019 The Irish Film & Television Network
Education / Training
Festivals / Markets
Locations Ireland
Post Production
Rep Bodies
Features & Interviews
Production News
Post Production News
VFX News
Animation News
Digital News
Festivals News
Training News
Cast News
Finance News
IFTA Film & Drama Awards
Galway Film Fleadh 2017
List Your Company
Daily News Bulletin
Site Map
IFTN nominated for Webbies
11 Feb 1999 :

IFTN is one of the five sites nominated in the film section of The Webby Awards which are the preeminent creative honours for digital media considered to be the 'Oscars of the Internet'. IFTN was nominated by members of The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS).

High--tech publishing empire International Data Group--creator of The Webby Awards - formed The International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences. The 350-charter member organisation will promotes and oversee what is widely known as the Oscars of the Web. The 1999 Webby Awards event will take place in San Francisco, California on March 18 at The Herbst Theatre and San Francisco's marvelous City Hall.

Now in their third successful year, The Webby Awards unite members of the global online community for a dazzling celebration of the medium's best and brightest. In 1999, more than 2,000 industry professionals will attend The Webby Awards in San Francisco, and over 100,000 online fans are expected to participate by voting in the People's Voice Awards or watching the night's webcast.

Every year, two awards are given in 24 categories and winners are chosen by judges from The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS) and the People's Voice Award winners are selected by the online community via the Internet. Everybody who participates by voting online has the chance of winning an all expenses paid trip to San Francisco for the awards ceremony.

The final nominees in each category are decided on by the IADAS selection panel composed of five nominating judges. These judges are selected for their expertise in new media and their exposure to a broad spectrum of sites specific to their category. Each nominating judge chooses their top five sites and rates them according to the following criteria

- content
- structure and navigation
- visual design
- functionality
- Overall experience


The sites nominated in film were:


Ireland Film and Television Net - www.iftn.ie
Coming Attractions - corona.bc.ca/films
Dark Horizons - www.darkhorizons.com
Film.com - www.film.com
Internet Movie Database - www.imdb.com

The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS) which includes such luminaries as director Francis Ford Coppola, musician David Bowie, Darren Aronofsky director of 'Pi', James Banister, Vice President and General Manager, Warner Bros. Online, Les Blank documentary filmmaker, Elizabeth Daley, Dean, USC - School of Cinema / Television, Mignon Erixon-Stanford, Web Architect, The Smithsonian, Carl Goodman, Curator, American Museum of Moving Images, Jocelyn Greenky, Executive Director of Online, Premiere Magazine, Diane Jakacki, Executive Producer, HBO Online, Lynda Keeler, Vice President and General Manager, Columbia Tristar Interactive, John Leverence, Director, The Emmy Awards, Lawrence Rowe, Professor of Computer Science, UC Berkeley and many more.

Michael McMahon 14/1/99

Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter