9 July 2020 The Irish Film & Television Network
Oscar Glory For Irish Short ‘Six Shooter’
06 Mar 2006 :

McDonagh at the Oscars (courtesy of wireimage )

Martin McDonagh’s Irish short film ‘Six Shooter’ has won the Academy Award for Best Live Action Short, announced at the gala ceremony at Hollywood's Kodak Theatre.

Accepting the award McDonagh said, “I'd just like to thank everybody who was involved in the film. Especially Brendan Gleeson and Ruaidhri

Conroy. And Rory, I'm sorry that you couldn't be here tonight, but I hope next time if they let you into the country. I'd like to say hi to my mom and dad back in Ireland. And, a big hello to everyone involved with Lieutenant of Inishmore in Atlantic, New York. Thanks.”

McDonagh is a renowned award winning playwright and ‘Six Shooter’ is debut short film as a director. The black comedy follows a train journey in which a recently bereaved man (Brendan Gleeson) encounters a strange oddball (Rúaidhrí Conroy) with disastrous consequences. The film co-stars David Wilmot (Studs) and Aisling O’Sullivan (The Clinic). 'Six Shooter' was produced by Missing in Action Films, Funny Farm Film & Television and Fantastic Films and co-financed by the Irish Film Board & Film Four Lab.

The Oscars

As usual, the Academy Awards were attended by the industry glitterati and were not without their surprises. Paul Haggis’ urban drama ‘Crash’ scooped the Best Picture Award beating the long standing favourite, gay cowboy movie ‘Brokeback Mountain’. ‘Brokeback’ helmer Ang Lee picked up the Best Director gong with the film also winning for Best Adapted Screenplay and Best Original Score.

In the acting categories ‘Capote’ lead Phillip Seymour Hoffman won the Best Actor Award with ‘Walk The Line’ actress Reese Witherspoon scooping Best Actress. Best Supporting Awards went to George Clooney (Syriana) and Rachel Weisz (The Constant Gardner).

South African drama 'Tsotsi' was named Best Foreign Language Film and the French Documentary 'March of the Penguins' won the award for Best Documentary Feature. UK faviourite 'Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit' picked up the Best Animated Feature award.

The Full List of Winners:

Best Picture
Crash - Paul Haggis, Cathy Schulman
Brokeback Mountain
Good Night, And Good Luck

Best Director
Ang Lee - Brokeback Mountain
Bennett Miller – Capote
Paul Haggis – Crash
George Clooney - Good Night, And Good Night
Steven Spielberg – Munich

Best Actor
Philip Seymour Hoffman - Capote
Terrence Howard - Hustle & Flow
Heath Ledger - Brokeback Mountain
Joaquin Phoenix - Walk The Line
David Strathairn - Good Night, And Good Luck

Best Actress
Reese Witherspoon - Walk The Line
Judi Dench - Mrs Henderson Presents
Felicity Huffman – Transamerica
Keira Knightley - Pride & Prejudice
Charlize Theron - North Country

Best Supporting Actor
George Clooney – Syriana
Matt Dillon – Crash
Paul Giamatti - Cinderella Man
Jake Gyllenhaal - Brokeback Mountain
William Hurt - A History Of Violence

Best Supporting Actress
Rachel Weisz - The Constant Gardener
Amy Adams – Junebug
Catherine Keener – Capote
Frances McDormand - North Country
Michelle Williams - Brokeback Mountain

Best Original Screenplay
Crash - Paul Haggis, Bobby Moresco
Good Night, And Good Luck
Match Point
The Squid And The Whale

Best Adapted Screenplay
Brokeback Mountain - Diana Ossana, Larry McMurtry
The Constant Gardener
A History Of Violence

Best Animated Film
Wallace & Gromit: The Curse Of The Were-Rabbit - Nick Park, Steve Box
Howl's Moving Castle
Tim Burton's Corpse Bride

Best Foreign Film
Tsotsi (South Africa)
Don't Tell (Italy)
Merry Christmas (France)
Paradise Now (Palestinian Authority)
Sophie Scholl (Germany)

Best Art Direction
Memoirs Of A Geisha - John Myhre, Gretchen Rau
Good Night, And Good Luck
Harry Potter And The Goblet Of Fire
King Kong
Pride & Prejudice

Best Cinematography
Memoirs Of A Geisha - Dion Beebe
Batman Begins
Brokeback Mountain
Good Night, And Good Luck
The New World

Best Costume Design
Memoirs Of A Geisha – Colleen Atwood
Charlie And The Chocolate Factory
Mrs Henderson Presents
Pride & Prejudice
Walk The Line

Best Sound Editing
King Kong - Mike Hopkins, Ethan Van der Ryn
Memoirs Of A Geisha
War Of The Worlds

Best Sound Mixing
King Kong - Christopher Boyes, Michael Semanick, Michael Hedges, Hammond Pee
The Chronicles Of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe
Memoirs Of A Geisha
Walk The Line
War Of The Worlds

Best Visual Effects
King Kong – Joe Letteri, Brian Van't Hul, Christian Rivers, Richard Taylor
The Chronicles Of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe
War Of The Worlds

Best Film Editing
Crash - Hughes Winborne
Cinderella Man
The Constant Gardener
Walk The Line

Best Makeup
The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe – Howard Berger, Tami Lane
Cinderella Man
Star Wars: Episode III Revenge Of The Sith

Best Score
Brokeback Mountain - Gustavo Santaolalla
The Constant Gardener
Memoirs Of A Geisha
Pride & Prejudice

Best Song
It's Hard Out Here for A Pimp (Hustle & Flow) - Jordan Houston, Cedric Coleman, Paul Beauregard
In the Deep (Crash)
Travelin' Thru (Transamerica)

Best Short Film (Animated)
The Moon And The Son: An Imagined Conversation – John Canemaker, Peggy Stern
The Mysterious Geographic Explorations Of Jasper Morello
One Man Band

Best Short Film (Live Action)
Six Shooter – Martin McDonagh
Ausreisser (The Runaway)
The Last Farm
Our Time Is Up

Best Documentary Feature
March Of The Penguins
Darwin's Nightmare
Enron: The Smartest Guys In The Room
Street Fight

Best Documentary Short
A Note Of Triumph: The Golden Age Of Norman Corwin - Corinne Marrinan, Eric Simonson
The Death Of Kevin Carter: Casualty Of The Bang Bang Club
God Sleeps In Rwanda
The Mushroom Club

Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter