22 September 2020 The Irish Film & Television Network
Corona Cork Film Festival Winners Announced
22 Oct 2007 :
Darren Thornton’s short ‘Frankie’ picked up the Absolut Award for Best Irish Short at this year’s Corona Cork Film Festival, which took place from the 14th-21st October.

The film also received a special mention in the Prix UIP Cork for Best European Short Film, which was won by English director James Lees’ ‘The Apology Line’.

The Jury, which included Andrew Kotting, George Eldred and Geraldine Gomex commented: “Darren Thornton's work demonstrates not only impressive accomplishment in the artistry of filmmaking, but also perceptive empathy with human frailty, taking a familiar 'social problem' subject and bringing it to very affecting life, in the person of a young boy trying very hard to do the right thing.”

Israeli film ‘Tolya’, directed by Rodeon Bordsky, scooped the Best International Short award, with Radu Jude’s ‘The Tube With A Hate’ (Romania) and Maciej Cuske’s ‘Suburban Train’ (Poland) receiving special mentions from the Jury.

The Claire Lynch Award for Best First Time Director went to Keith Mannix’s ‘Death in the West’, while a special mention was given to writer-director Colm Quinn’s ‘The Discreet Charms of the Refugee’.

The Irish Examiner ‘Made in Cork’ Award, which celebrates local filmmaking, went to Noel Twomey’s ‘Torture is Us’, which depicts Ireland’s role in international torture through US extraordinary rendition.. Special mention went to Ciara Kennedy’s boy meet snail story ‘Trails’ and Treasa O’Brien’s ‘Mosquito Bites’.

Gradam Gael Linn for Best Irish Language Short Film was picked up by Cathal Watters’ ‘Rolla Saor’; Award of the Festival for Best Short Film went to ‘The Minutes After’ directed by Nikolay Todorov from Bulgaria; while the Outlook Award for Best LGBT Short Film went to Lisa Adler’s ‘Gero, Gerd and the Great’ from Germany.

Steph Green’s ‘New Boy’ picked up the Audience Award for Best International Short, receiving 34% of the audience votes, while Peter Foott’s ‘An Creatur’ walked away with the Audience Award for Best Irish Short Film, receiving 36% of the votes.

The Youth Jury Award for best International Short Film went to Sweden’s Jens Assur for his short ‘The Last Dog in Rwanda’ and the Kommando Film Award went to Robert O'Halloran's ‘Piebald’.


Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors


Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



bodrum escort bayan escort antalya gumbet escort