10 July 2020 The Irish Film & Television Network

Irish Film and Television Network




Digital Television

New BAI Committees Announced
01 Dec 2009 :
Communications Minister Eamon Ryan announced on Monday, November 30, the appointments to the Compliance Committee and Contract Awards Committee of the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland.

The Broadcasting Authority is the new single broadcasting content regulator for Ireland. The Contracts Award Committee will license independent commercial and community broadcasters including digital television providers.

The Compliance Committee will require all broadcasters, public or private, to comply with their licence conditions, broadcasting codes and rules. New codes in relation to children’s advertising, among others, will be introduced under the Broadcasting Act.

The Contract Awards Committee members include director of Saffron Pictures and the Irish Theatre Institute, Siobhán Bourke (Chairperson); David Barniville S.C., barrister at law; Eimer McGovern, CFO of ThirdForce plc and Chairman of the Digital Media Forum, Neil Leyden.

The Compliance Committee members are Professor Chris Morash (Chairperson), head of the NUI Maynooth School of English; music promoter John Reynolds; Managing Director of Real Event Solutions Aidine O’Reilly and communications consultant Edel Hackett.

Minister Ryan said of the appointments: “Broadcasting in Ireland is entering a period of change. New technologies are changing viewing and listening patterns but the old rule remains – the quality of the content defines success. These appointees will have the requisite skills to help Irish broadcasting adapt and thrive. I hope and trust they will be strict, strong and visionary in their exciting new roles. I look forward to receiving the remaining appointments from the Joint Oireachtas Committee, under the new arrangements put in place under the Broadcasting Act.”

Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter