25 July 2024 The Irish Film & Television Network

Irish Film and Television Network




Commercials News

Government appoint new Chairpersons to the Boards of RTÉ and TG4
29 Nov 2022 : Nathan Griffin
Siún Ní Raghallaigh and Anna Ní Ghallachair.
The Minister for Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media, Catherine Martin, has announced the appointment of new Chairs for the Boards of RTÉ and TG4, who will both serve 5 year terms.

Former Chairperson of TG4, Siún Ní Raghallaigh has been appointed as the new Chairperson of RTÉ, while Anna Ní Ghallachair will become the new Chairperson of TG4.

RTÉ Board

The Minister and Government has also made a number of other appointments to both Boards. Aideen Howard, who is the director of The Ark Children’s Cultural Centre in Dublin, has become a member of the RTÉ Board. 

Speaking about the appointments to the RTÉ Board, Minister Catherine Martin said: "RTÉ is at the centre of Irish life – informing, educating and entertaining the public – and these appointments come at a time of opportunity and change in the Irish media and broadcasting landscape. Siún Ní Raghallaigh and Aideen Howard bring wide-ranging knowledge and experience which will be central to the evolving strategic direction of RTÉ. I wish both well during their terms and thank them for taking on these important roles."

The appointments follow a public call for applications on stateboards.ie and an assessment process managed by the Public Appointments Service.

TG4 Board

The Minister has also announced the appointment by Government of a new chairperson and three new members of the Board of TG4, as well as the reappointment of three existing Board members for second terms.

Róisín Ní Ráighne; Aedín O’Leary; and Seán Ó Cuirreáin have been appointed as members of the Board, who will serve terms of four years, while Siobhán Ní Ghadhra; Mairéad Ní Nuadháinand Darach Ó Tuairisg have been reappointed for three year terms of office.

Welcoming the appointments, the Minister said: “TG4 continues to play a key role not only in our media sector, but also as part of Government’s ongoing strategy to increase the use of the Irish language in our daily lives. TG4’s vision is to better serve our Irish-speaking communities, increase its engagement with younger audiences, all the while supporting local and regional creative companies to deliver quality content. Today’s appointment will add significantly to the Board as it continues to deliver this mission and vision.”

Anna Ní Ghallachair; Róisín Ní Ráighne; and Aedín O’Leary were selected following a competitive selection process run by the Public Appointments Service (PAS) on stateboards.ie. The Joint Oireachtas Committee on the Irish Language, Gaeltacht and Irish-speaking Community recommended that Minister Martin nominate Mr. Seán Ó Cuirreáin, for appointment by Government to the Board of TG4.

In accordance with section 81 of the Broadcasting Act 2009, appointments to the Board of RTÉ and TG4 are made by Government on the nomination of the Minister.

Total membership of each Board is 12, and the Act provides for nominees to be selected on the following basis: 6 nominated by the Minister, 4 nominated by the Minister having regard to the advice of the JOC, the Director General (ex-officio), and an elected staff representative.

Click here for more information about the appointments and the Board members.

Netflix reveals first-look image for Kaos starring Jeff Goldblum and Killian Scott
Exclusive: Official poster revealed for The Wise Guy ahead of world premiere at Galway Film Fleadh
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors


Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



canli bahis siteleri rulet siteleri deneme bonusu veren siteler bahis siteleri free spin veren siteler deneme bonusu veren yeni siteler yeni casino siteleri yeni bahis siteleri
slot siteleri betwild pashagaming tipobet hizlibahis cratosroyalbet betwoon kumar siteleri bahis siteleri casino siteleri en iyi bet siteleri
grandpashabet spinco betwoon giris cratosroyalbet giris superbet