11 December 2018 The Irish Film & Television Network
Education / Training
Festivals / Markets
Locations Ireland
Post Production
Rep Bodies
TV News
Irish Broadcasters
TV Production Co's
Who's Who in TV
TV Festivals & Markets
TV Highlights
Site Map

Irish Film and Television Network





Festival Round-Up
28 Apr 2015 : Seán Brosnan
Robert Manson with Best Director Award at the Achtung Berlin Film Festival
Irish filmmaker Robert Manson wins Best Director at the Achtung Berlin Film Festival, Brian MacEvilly wins scriptwriting award at the Nashville Film Festival and the Limerick Film Festival announce winners.

Irish filmmaker Robert Manson wins Best Director at Achtung Berlin Festival

Irish director Robert Manson was a big winner at the Achtung Berlin Film Festival, where he received the award for Best Director for his feature debut ‘Lost in the Living’.

‘Lost in the Living’ follows a young man, Oisín (Tadhg Murphy), a musician from Dublin, who travels to Berlin with his band, and is buzzing with the potential for adventure. He leaves behind the weight of losing his mother and anger towards his absent father.

Oisín meets Sabine (Aylin Tezel who previously starred in IFTA-nominated short film ‘Rhinos’), a pretty young Berliner, who shows him the secret places that belong to the people who live in the city; hot parks, uninhabited stations, and lakes in the countryside where the free body culture is still active. These pleasures are thrown into chaos when Sabine reveals that she has a boyfriend and the futility of Oisín’s situation dawns on him. His band have left, he’s lonely, homesick, homeless and broke. He embraces the darkness, tumbles through the void and out the other side.

‘Lost in the Living’, was made by Irish and Berlin based film-makers and by actors in Ireland and Germany during the summer of 2013, and had its world premiere at the festival. The film was a hit with the festival audience, screening four times. The speciality of the week-long Achtung Berlin Film Festival is that it only shows films that have been completely or in part been made in Berlin and Brandenburg.

A graduate of the National Film School director Manson has previously directed ‘The Silver Bow’ which won the Taylor Art Award in 2008, and has since travelled the world with screenings in over eight countries and more than five nominations and awards. Recent shorts ‘Downriver’ and ‘Rickshaw Rick’ have been screened at several festivals nationally and internationally.

Brian MacEvilly wins Writing Award in Nashville

Irish screenwriter Brian MacEvilly has won the award for best Script for a Comedy at the Nashville Film Festival for his screenplay ‘The Full Irish’.

‘The Full Irish’ was picked from more than 1,350 entries and the script sees a New York mafia boss find himself stranded in the remotest part of the West of Ireland.

Founded in 1969 by Mary Jane Coleman, NaFF was originally known as the Sinking Creek Film Celebration. Nearly 20 years later it was renamed as the Nashville Independent Film Festival and, later, the Nashville Film Festival in 2003. More than 43,000 people attended events during the 10-day festival, which featured 285 films from 45 countries.

MacEvilly has previously won the Atlantis Award at the Moondance Film Festival in New York for his screenplay ‘Song of the Lost Sister’.

Limerick Film Festival announces winners

The Limerick Film Festival came to a close last week after three days of talks, features and shorts, with an awards ceremony for short film.

The awards were well distributed among the nominated films with Best Overall winner ‘Anya’, an animated short from Brown Bag Films’ Damien O’Connor, the only double winner on the night also picking up Best Sound.

There were wins for Bertie Brosnan’s Cannes bound ‘Sineater’ for Best Camera, while Piers McGrath took home the Best Acting award for ‘Play It Again Son!’, and Hyo Kaag won Best Director for ‘Double Fasse’.

A portrait of Irish street artist Eoin, entitled ‘Eoin’, by director James Skerritt won Best Artistic Short Film, with Brendan McCallion’s war story ‘A Soldier’s Voice’ winning Best Drama, and ‘Epitaph’, a documentary about Mick Roe, a monumental engraver who has been in the stone trade since 1947, winning Best Factual Short Film.

Erin Mullally‘s ‘The Struggle of Libations’ won Best Lighting, with Helen Flanagan’s ‘An Cát’ winning Best Story/Script, Patrick McKnight and Mj Sullivan’s assassination thriller ‘Infinite’ winning Best Editing, and Switzerland’s ‘Scrabble’ taking Best International Short Film.

The full list of winners are as follows:

  • Best Acting - ‘Play It Again Son!’ – Piers McGrath
  • Best Artistic Short Film - ‘Eoin’
  • Best Camera - ‘Sineater’
  • Best Director - Double Fasse
  • Best Drama - ‘A Soldier’s Voice’
  • Best Editing - ‘Infinite’
  • Best Factual Short Film - ‘Epitaph’
  • Best International - ‘Scrabble’ (Switzerland)
  • Best Lighting - ‘The Struggle of Libations’
  • Best Script/Story - ‘An Cát’
  • Best Sound - ‘Anya’
  • Best Overall Short Film - ‘Anya’

Aisling Franciosi Named as Ireland's EFP European Shooting Star 2019
Waddell Media Celebrates 30 Years of Programme Making in Belfast
IFTA Announces Strategic 5-year Development Plan (2019 – 2023)
Nora Twomey’s The Breadwinner Picks Up Four Awards at the 2018 Emile Awards

Morgan Bushe Talks 'The Belly of the Whale' with IFTN
'The Favourite' Wins 10 Awards at BIFA
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

Aisling Franciosi Named as Ireland's EFP European Shooting Star 2019
11 Dec 2018 
Nora Twomey’s The Breadwinner Picks Up Four Awards at the 2018 Emile Awards
10 Dec 2018 
Submissions Deadline Extended for 2019 Irish Animation Awards
10 Dec 2018 
Four Projects Selected for Canada-Northern Ireland Co-Development Funding
10 Dec 2018 

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter